You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Looked Into SegWit, and Here's What I Saw

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Wow, this is a fantastic write up! Thank you so much. I knew some of the Segwit details, but clearly not all of them. This is really concerning stuff, for sure.

Edit: This Reddit thread may be worth reading: Holy shit! Greg Maxwell and Peter Todd both just ADMITTED and AGREED that NO solution has been implemented for the "SegWit validationless mining" attack vector, discovered by Peter Todd in 2015, exposed again by Peter Rizun in his recent video, and exposed again by Bitcrust dev Tomas van der Wansem.

Sort:  

I'm only here to see if I can get the vaguest understanding of this whole issue of crypto. I heard this was a good post to read and now my head hurts but I'm glad I did it. I'm stopping here because it looks bad and I have no idea even of the words being used to describe the badness. So over my head!!

Whoever told you this was a good place to start gave you very bad advice. This is a very complex, nuanced issue the experts from around the world who actually build the code we're discussing have not been able to agree on for years in a space that isn't even that many years old. If you're looking for a simple place to start, I'm working on some short videos at understandingblockchainfreedom.com which may help.

Good luck. Don't let these conversations spook you too much. There's incredibly opportunity for human freedom here.

Thank you for that advice! I have actually been ignoring the money side of this and the crypto blockchain info in the 6 weeks I've been on steemit. I just wanted to get in on the Alexa ranking for my content. But holy cow! So much complexity in so many areas.

I will take a look at your link and bookmark it for when I'm ready to dive in. And this whole post in now forgotten! Thank you again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62132.42
ETH 3416.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51