Your CPU running slow? Welcome to the new era of crypto mining

in #bitcoin7 years ago

This will definitely become a trend, and you should be prepared, unless you don't mind.

monero.png

I hope by now you are aware that websites can be mining cryptocurrencies while you are browsing. This was previously reported about The Pirate Bay. I guess that doesn't surprise anyone due to the fact it is mostly used to download pirated content, and therefore it becomes a visit at your own risk website.

But now there are reports that Showtime's website has also been mining Monero through unsuspecting visitors, slowing down their CPUs. There hasn't been a response from Showtime or its parent company, CBS, that I know of yet, but I wouldn't be surprised if they blame it on a rogue developer.

In both cases, the script used is Coinhive's, which clearly mentions on their own website that you should warn your site's visitors about the running script.

Unfortunately, I believe this will continue on, and legit websites will be considering cryptocurrency-mining scripts as an alternative to ad revenue. But, let's face it, there's no guarantee they won't have BOTH script-based mining AND ads.

How can you prepare? I know for a fact that Malwarebytes blocks all Coinhive traffic, so anti-malware software is one step. For Chrome users, there are extensions that block miners (I use one called minerBlock, seems to work fine).

There is also the possibility that you actually don't mind and/or even prefer the script-based mining to the ads. But I don't believe you will feel that once your CPU's usage goes to 100% and your computer lags.

What do you think about this trend?

Sort:  

Unless the website is upfront about what they are doing this is sketchy as hell.

Using my electricity that I pay for, and my hardware that I pay for, and do I get a cut of the currency mined.. nope. Doesn't sit well. Maybe if websites are upfront about this and offer something in exchange we could see more widespread adoption or acceptance. Thanks for posting the blocking resources!

I totally agree with you. Even if they are upfront about it, it just doesn't sit well with me.

I have recently seen faucet sites including a feature that allows visitors to mine on their cpu and get a return. XMR and other crypto-night coins is still feasible now but scrypt and even sha-256 mined on a cpu is silly. I tested out on the moon faucet sites and for bitcoin was getting 8h/s on my android.

It is hard enough to security my internet and private info. online, but to now have to protect my own computer usage. I will check out the recommend minerBlock. Thanks.

Yes. Moon Bitcoin has the option, at least they are decent enough to put a checkmark if you want to get into the mining scheme. Other faucets don't even ask. I know it cause Malwarebytes goes crazy, even after you've closed the tab.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67467.65
ETH 3470.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71