MY JOURNEY INTO THE CRAZY WORLD OF CRYPTOCURRENCY – part 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin6 years ago

part 2.png

Some people refer to the cryptocurrency world as the modern day Wide Wild West, I agree with them on this. And like the Wild West, it’s exciting and can be frustrating at times. My journey through the Wild West hasn’t been as easy as painted in some online articles and Youtube videos. I began telling my crypto journey in this post:
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@louie3/my-journey-into-the-crazy-world-of-cryptocurrency-part-1

Well, if you’ve been following my posts then you must know how I stumbled on this crazy new world.

#Bitcoin suddenly became valuable and people were rushing to grab their own piece of the crypto pie. I remembered the story of the Gold Rush of 1848, and it made me look at it with a skeptical eye. People also started talking about Alt coins and their pros over Bitcoin. “How can peasants be better than the King?” I thought.

9ed4ed6e5a77a6977ae7278c9d48ef8fbaa3308efebd798d20ef9e420f35cca2.jpg
Caption - [Bitcoin standing over other coins]

Against my better judgement I tried investing in Bitcoin, but as fortune would have it I was scammed. It was at that moment after being scammed that I started hearing other scam stories. I found it funny that I didn’t hear of these scams until I was scammed myself. Dejected and angry I vowed never to venture into anything that had crypto written on it. I was okay watching from the sidelines.

Fast forward two years later, Bitcoin and its siblings went to the moon that it practically became impossible to ignore. So, I found myself slowly diving back into this crazy new world. A lot had changed since I was last there: There were new coins, wallets, exchanges and a host of other services. There was so much noise that I didn’t know where to start from. There were claims all over the internet of people becoming millionaires, buying Lamborghinis, and marrying the women of their dreams, trying to live on Mars like Elon Musk and much more. All because of Bitcoin and its merry band of Alt coins. I was determined that I was going to make it big this time around.

all the way up.jpg

Trust me, I did my research this time around. I bought an Alt coin that was the rage of the moment. John McAfee and other self-acclaimed crypto experts were backing this coin. Who am I not to jump in when experts are all saying do it? And so I bought a few coins and waited for it to moon. It was close to the moon…No…I think there was an eclipse that day and the sun fried its ass and it fell back to hell were it belonged. And so I was burnt again.

maxresdefault.jpg

It was after being burned this second time that I started hearing things like “Cryptocurrencies is full of speculation”, “Don’t believe what you see on Youtube or Twitter”, “and don’t listen to these damn experts”.
“What? Nobody told me any of these when I was investing my money.”
It’s all medicine after death. Surely this is not the right way.

I wasn’t going to be perturbed by this little setback and so I went back in. This time with a different approach. I didn’t rely on articles or videos online. I totally ignored the tweets from the so-called experts looking for referral bonuses, whale pump and dumps, followers and Youtube subscribers. I instead listened to the people doing the actual investing. I went on forums and joined instant messaging groups. There was a lot of noise there too, but it was easy to filter and see the sense in their conversations. This turned out to be the best decision I’ve made so far on my crazy cryptocurrency journey. There has been some few losses but there has also been some big wins. I am glad with myself for choosing this path and will continue learning. The future holds great things.

THE END!

Have a great day and watch out for more interesting posts from me.

Sort:  

nice job ! I wish you much success!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57151.22
ETH 3067.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32