Crypto Currency Meltdown.

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

image

I've watched some videos on YouTube, I've read some posts on here (understood about 10% of it) and, after kicking myself for not buying at least one Bitcoin when I first heard about it, decided to take the £10.50 I had left over from Christmas and buy some of this new fangled crypto thingy.

First I clicked on the 'buy Steem' button on my profile bar.....it took me to a blank page. After hitting the button harder and repeatedly....success! Eagerly I selected the currency bar and discovered that I could pay in my choice of Crypto currency. I DON'T HAVE ANY CRYPTO CURRENCY THATS WHY I'M HERE!

'Not to worry' I say to myself, 'Google will know what to do', so armed with renewed hope and faith I asked the keeper of all knowlegde what I should do.....it directed me to several helpful posts on Steemit (please don't ask which ones, because at this point my brain has actual tumbleweed dancing across it), which suggested some easy to use sites for beginners.

With a deep breath and renewed determination, I opened the page which was recommended the most highly.....to be faced with what looked like a breakdown of the FTSE 100. So many numbers that my brain, literally, gave up the ghost, curled up it's tint little toes and died quietly whimpering in some quiet corner of my skull.

What have I learned? I've learned I need a fancy financial advisor (perhaps my grandson can help), or I need to go to university and retrain as an economist, or....and this is my favourite option.....I need a friend who can explain it to me using finger puppets and words of no more than 3 syllables!

I'm sure there will be more to follow as I navigate this new and strange territory called Steemit.

Sort:  

I agree with jamesrc2384, buying cryptocurrencies (BTC, LTC, ETH, BCH) on Coinbase is easy.
After purchasing, you could use any of the cryptocurrencies you purchased to buy steem on a platform like Blocktrades.

Thank you so much. I'm still working out what a block chain is. Lol. I literally feel like a preschooler on here despite having a high level of education. Humbling experience.

@jeffways is right... You buy on an exchange and there are little hundreds of them all around the world. Bitcoin is only one of many different crypto currencies (and STEEM is one too) You're getting it @looksfarwoman ... Its fun to learn

coinbase is one of the easiest ways to start buying and trading crypto.once you have an account then you can send it over to gdax and go even further into trading ..

Thank you. I'll check it out. I've never traded, bought stocks and shares or even looked at the financial markets so it's going to be a wild ride. I really appreciate the tip.

I will be wild, that you can count on. Just be careful and take steps slowly because you have lots to learn and this is really the wild west.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46