You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 4 ways to secure your bags... #bitcoin, #altcoins, #cryptoasset tokens, whatever. A @notsofast security primer.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

After reading point 1, my mind feels like mush. Obviously if I'm here it is because I am interested in securing my cryptoassets. Thank you for posting this because it seems to be very helpful to others. However, I am feeling overwhelmed and I don't want to invest more into crypto because I do not see the benefit if I cannot secure it. Part of what attracted me to cryptocurrency was the enhanced security of the blockchain. I am currently using Coinbase; after learning why it is not a secure wallet I don't even know how to go about taking it out of there and putting it somewhere else. I feel like I need another college degree to even begin understanding the crypto world. I woke up this morning eager to learn and broaden my understanding, not 2 hours into my research and I want to crawl back into bed. The negative thoughts in my head are taking over; how will crypto ever be adopted by the masses if regular people like myself can't understand it enough to adopt it? I know enough to realize the potential and the beautiful aspects of decentralized currency and am partial to the idea, but I will also always be at the mercy of experienced and knowledgeable hackers. Security is something humans have sought since the beginning of our existence. The common population has traded liberties and freedom for security and protection; hence centralized governments and currencies. As always, I have gone off-topic processing and evaluating my thoughts. I have gained new information from this post and overwhelming as it may be, it has got the wheels turning. I will try again tomorrow....... Sharing my thoughts and feelings with you all, again thank you @notsofast for this information.

Sort:  

Hey, I'm sorry it took me so long to get to this post. My intention was not to overwhelm you or anyone else-- I do agree with you that the security factors can be the bad kind of surprise. This crosses over heavily into everything else we do insecurely online, though, without thinking-- reusing passwords, not backing up our important files, trusting other companies blindly to keep our information safe, etc. We are much more aware of our money. But bringing our money into that realm of digital control exposes it to all the risks and insecurities attached to the things we value less than ease of use, when we should be more mindful of them.
Your mindmush is a good and natural reaction to getting more deeply involved, and you're correct that the ease of use is a hurdle crypto needs to clear before the masses are ready to use it safely and effectively. It's up to you to decide if your level of interest in the technology's future is worth you jumping that hurdle now, or waiting. Both things are the right thing to do if you feel they are. Thanks for sharing your feelings-- I hope it validates people feeling similarly overwhelmed but who are too afraid to say so!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97