Bitcoin is Easier than Using Fiat Money.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I travel for work regularly. I am currently in Phoenix, AZ.

Every single time I have traveled in the past couple years, my credit union/bank suspends my debit card thinking that there must be some sort of fraud. How dare I leave the area of my domicile!?!?!?!??

Last time this happened, I got stranded where I was.

I use the Gyft app to but gift cards for a lot of different retailers using #Bitcoin. It's a great way to buy things with Bitcoin at places that don't yet accept it.

This time, I tried to buy a gift card for someone else using my debit card. Gyft is based in California, so because I dared to spend money (online) in Arizona and the neighboring state of California in the same day, the bank suspended my ATM card.

Of course, they don't bother to call and inquire or even notify me after the fact. I find out when I try to buy a coffee at Starbucks and the card declines.

So, after writing a handwritten letter, signing it, scanning it, and emailing it to the bank, they reactivated my card.

All over an attempt to buy a $50 gift card and a $3 cup of coffee in one morning.

Thanks for nothing assholes!

Oh and now Gyft​ has suspended my account over this also. "Check your email" they said.

There is no fucking email.

This is why the ancient system of bank-controlled money is coming to an end.

Get on board or get left behind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 59696.83
ETH 2363.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55