You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What's up with these markets?!

in #bitcoin4 years ago

I try to buy a little gold and silver when I can, but more as an insurance policy than an investment. I don't know if I could ever sell any. It'll probably just go to my kids when I'm dead. I actually warned my son, right before my wife and I traveled recently, that, if we died on the trip, the quarters and dimes in my coin machine were silver and to not just spend them as cash :-)

Sort:  

Hahaha, that's funny, although a bit grim! Glad you returned from your trip safely.
I'm the same, for me it's insurance, but for me it's also savings. You're probably in a better overall financial situation (if you went on a trip for fun, I can guarantee it!) For me, when I was out of cash (was homeless due to betrayal and illness from 2016 to 2018) my silver was there to bail me out and get me through to a safe place. Once MediKatie and I stabilized in an apartment (Vancouver is very hard to find rentals even if you have money), we started to work on our health and finances, but then suddenly had a surprise baby. So we haven't really managed to recover our stack, but we definitely still believe in owning PMs as savings, and advocate others do so if they're able. It can definitely save your ass.

It’s great advice. I have seen people selling when I’m buying. It’s nice to have that to fall back on during hard times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68436.55
ETH 3750.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66