Preparing for the bitcoin forksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

It is so crazy that we are almost at the fork in the road on the bitcoin network with less than a week for things to finally play out.

I own about 3.65 BTC on Coinbase but since they are not supporting the fork, I have decided that I want to own my own personal keys so I can get the copy of whatever becomes the alt-coin that is being made after the fork. Some may not agree that it is an alt-coin but regardless of what side you are on, most probably want to own both coins just to be safe.

Here is a link that talks about this and how to deal with the fork: Beginners Guide to Surviving BIP-148

There are issues with possible replay attacks and also questions on if one network will attack the other but from what I basically have learned is that once you get your alt coin, DO NOT TRADE any of them until you have split them their own separate wallets.

I personally want both coins but will not reveal what side I believe is correct as I do feel one is more correct then the other but I don’t want anyone to take it personal and downvote me for my views. I do feel one coin will be picked as the legitimate Bitcoin and I want to make sure I have all the forked copies just to be safe.

Bitcoin image credit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81