Did You Get the Bitcoin Bomb Threat Scam Email Today?

in #bitcoin5 years ago

42884988764_c73de61c00_o.jpg

Have you heard about the fake Bitcoin bomb threat currently circulating? Check your spam, because it might be there! Hundreds of businesses and individuals across the country have gotten a spam email claiming they've planted a bomb and it will detonate unless they send a certain amount of Bitcoin to an address.

Apparently quite a few people found the email buried in their spam, thanks to Google identifying it as spam right away. The subject email on these varies, according to people who've received the message. Sometimes it reads "Do not panic," "Do not waste your time," "Better listen to me," or even just "Bomb is in your building."

On Reddit, u/I_am_trying_to_work shared the message he got, which starts out saying: "I write you to inform you that my man hid the explosive device (Tetryl) in the building where your company is conducted. My mercenary constructed the bomb according to my guide."

If you get one, you should contact the FBI or your local police and let them know. The NYPD said on Twitter that the threats appear to just be a way to cause disruption or get money, but they're not credible.

If you want more details, one of my colleagues wrote an article about what's happening here.

I also wrote about this on Minds. If you're on Minds, let's connect there too!

Did you get an email today?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63900.26
ETH 3063.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.21