Chapter 2, Choosing a faucet script

in #bitcoin7 years ago

It's been a while since I posted last time, I've been delving into the faucet scripts and it feels fitting to dedicate this chapter to just faucet scripts.
Code.jpg
So, let's have a look at some options for faucet scripts. Since I only have experience with two scripts myself, I'll start with a list of links to some of the more wellknown scripts. I'll be honest, the list is a ripoff, I borrowed it from Blog bitcoins 4free.
Instead of me making an ass of myself trying to seem more knowledgeable than I actually am, I'll focus on the two scripts that I do have experience with. But first the links I promised...
Faucetbox.com
Faucetbox - Makejar's version
Faucetbox - $ script addon
Faucetbox - Shortlink integration
Jquery faucet script
Gr8.cc script
Open Source Script
Mini Faucet
Faucet CMS
Coinbox script
Unofficial Faucethub script
Another Faucethub script
Xapo faucet
Wordpress faucet by 99bitcoins.com
Quantum faucet
Gambling faucet

Faucetsystem.com

This script I do have some personal experience with.
Official page, for those who want the basic script.
Faucethub version
This script comes loaded out of the box.
Instead of listing everything it comes equipped with I'll mention the things I didn't find.

  • No internal pot, it's all instant pay.
  • No shortlink integration
  • No faucet list
  • No seniority or loyalty program built in
  • No timer controlled progressive reward function
  • No currency conversion
  • No games or other extras
    There is a big "but" coming here, it's far from being an easy script to work with. You need to set up a SQL database, and add some personal information, but i suspect that is nothing unusual for faucet scripts.
    Once it's up and running you can administer the faucet from a browser which is a nice touch. So, if you're ok with the faucet as is, I guess it's ok to work with.
    However, if you want to start modifying it, adding functions, adding pages and changing the operation of the faucet. Then you are in for a steep learning curve. Modifying this script is not for the faint of heart and not something for a n0ob.
    I changed pretty much everything I could change and added a lot of extras just because I could. It was a fun learning experience but really, in hindsight not something I recommend unless you get off on doing things just because you can.
    Initially it feels pretty secure but the more I learn about programming the more I wonder about the security. I couldn't hack it myself and I don't know how to make a bot that'll penetrate this faucet script but to the real pros... I don't know?
    Anyway, if you want a turnkey ready faucet with lots of extras, this works.
    If you want to make the script your own, there might be better suited options out there.
    I got reports about some users having issues with the timer but could never replicate the problem myself, take it for what it's worth.

Alpha Faucet script

[Official page] (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1871667.0)
This is my most recent experiment and to be honest, I like it a lot. Alamin did a great job writing this one. Instead of incorporating a SQL database you sort of create your own using files. It's very compact and transportable. Zip it up move the zip file to your new host and unzip, ready to go.
You'll have to fill in some personal information to get it up and running but all in all it's very light weight. The code is pretty easy to work with if you want to modify the script. Anyone can play around with the layout and with a little experience you can tweak it to your own personal liking.
It has out of the box support for shortlinks which is nice.
It feels pretty secure but I'm no expert on security. Alamin's a really nice guy and part of the community, you can find him on the big crypto-currency forums.
You get a choice of reCaptcha or SolveMedia. I decided to do something completely different, I added BitCaptcha instead. So, adding a different captcha provider is doable. Difficulty depends mostly on the information you get from the provider, the alpha script in itself is not the problem.
The shortlink is initially set up as bonus link to visit. As usual I had to tinker with it and shifted the shortlink to be part of the claim process instead. So, this is also doable, but before you get yourself in a mess, make sure you know what you're doing.
The script itself is easy enough to work with but It's easy to get distracted when you're sending things back and forth.
Something that has become popular just recently is browser mining, I just had to give it a try. And indeed, it was pretty easily incorporated, no big surprises.
I rebuilt the script so that you can set the rewards in dollars.
I set it up for 9 different crypto-currencies using sub-domains.
I changed layout protocol, added links, a nav-bar and so on, without breaking the script. All and all I'd say it's been smooth sailing. If you know the basics for coding in HTML, PHP and javascript, you can have a lot of fun with this script and I highly recommend it.
That's all for this time. I'll try to get the next chapter up much faster than this one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42