Meatspace markets won't open for another 10 days in crypto-time!

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

I saw a headline somewhere that France was warning other major economies to monitor markets for signs of chaos following the latest nuclear test (this time a hydrogen bomb, allegedly) by North Korea.

But here I am sitting in America where tomorrow is Labor Day, meaning markets won't open until Tuesday. A whole fricking two days away before any investors can react to the geopolitical tensions. I mentioned, on Twitter, that this is an eternity in crypto time; but this chap corrected me with the actual facts:

insert-1.jpg

How old fashioned! How quaint, indeed! Your Twitter stream of chaos never ever stops nor does the cryptocurrency market. Though I'm sure there are some wishing they would halt for a few hours just in order to get some peace of mind. LOL.

insert-2.jpg

Anyway, the fact that major market moving events can happen but investors aren't actually able to respond for another 48 or even 72 hours, makes one ask if there are even free markets at all? And you can see why all of Wall Street has become bored with their much more constrained, only-free-a-few-hours a day markets and moved over to crypto en-masse.

Once you go crypto, you can never go back.

[Signed, Stacy]

Sort:  

North Korea again!? I don't know what to say about that zoo of a nation! ALWAYS provocative!

Well, if Hillary Clinton hadn't cackled with joy about Gaddafi getting sodomized to death so soon after he gave up his WMD with much Western media lauded fanfare, I'm assuming the likes of Kim Jong-un wouldn't have so much incentive to get WMD as fast as possible to save themselves from the same?

lol. what do you do when there's a gang of bullies in the schoolyard? there's no escape, you have to learn karate and break a few bones.

Why did the chicken cross the road?
North Korean nuclear missiles can´t reach the other side!

Upvoted and also resteemed :)

Thanks!

i am upvoted and reply your post plz visit me
upvoted,reply,follow and resteem when you work in steemit thanks alot,
my id = https://steemit.com/@pranashroy

Once ur crypto earn, you never return... lol XD

Exactly, and they pay investment managers to be in charge of something that there is no control over. Are people that are in that racket idiots or what? Go Max go, tell it like it is. Crypto is the place to be . . . where you can have your finger on the trigger round the clock. I'm completely invested in crypto (and gold) for when I see those mushroom clouds. I bought my first Bitcoins after I heard Max say they were $3. I don't have quite enough to build my bunker yet. But, next year.

Over and above that, markets have circuit breakers built in to stop trading altogether when big events "disrupt" the markets. These clearly do not exist with cryptocurrency markets but the question is will they. At the moment 99% of people are probably putting there lunch money into crypto, not their pension. The volatility of these markets would make pension fund managers wilt. So for them less trading days to overreact may be a good thing as well as circuit breakers etc. The other that I can think of is trading on Margin. Margin calls on a 40% stock market crash would be devastating but can happen almost anytime even with venerable Bitcoin. But with crypto there are very few derivatives so far.

i agree the markets are dinosaurs and slow and without access when it is needed. Time for a crypto explosion

Once you go crypto, you can never go back.

Haha, nice one. I was thinking of something like "once you go block[chain] you never go back". Maybe for some extra (Pretenders) pop-culture add "... never go back on the chain gang" (since blockchain will free your mind and free you from a life of financial slavery).

Okay, it's late and I'm trying too hard. However the 24/7 nature of blockchain markets is a blessing and a curse - it becomes impossible to day trade since you'd need to be up 24/7 to always be watching the market. But that's a good thing since ultimately you tire of trying to watch and just give up for long term holding - which is probably the best thing I ever did (although I'd have a few BTC more now if I'd given up trying to beat the market a lot sooner!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99