Fee Differences: Jaxx's built-in Shapeshift vs. Shapeshift.io Web Interface

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Higher fees in using Jaxx's built-in Shapeshift function?

One of the ways to buy altcoins is through platforms such as Shapeshift. And this is what I have realized when I wanted to exchange some bitcoin for Tenx PAY tokens today.

If I were to use Jaxx's built-in Shapeshift function, my spendable amount of bitcoin would be 0.10845911 out of my available 0.10968511 btc in my wallet.

The difference between my available and spendable btc is 0.001226 btc. And at USD $4300/btc, that amounts to USD $5.27.

()

However, if I decide to use the usual "Send" function in Jaxx's wallet to send btc to Shapeshift.io web interface, my spendable amount of bitcoin would be 0.10945911 out of my available balance.

The difference between my available and spendable btc is 0.000226 btc. And at USD $4300/btc, that amounts to USD $0.97. It could get me a little more Tenx PAY token using this cheaper method.

Available btc - Spendable btc = Mining Fees

My default setting on Jaxx's app is 'average mining fee' and USD $0.97 sounds fair to me. Hence, could the USD $5.27 an express mining fee which consumers do not have control over when using the built-in Shapeshift function?

Or could there be some other 'hidden' charges in using Jaxx's built-in Shapeshift function? Maybe someone here will have the answer. Whatever the case may be, I went ahead with using Shapeshift via the web interface .

~End~



Knowing that no one pleases everyone and there is a flip side to every coin, including Bitcoin. Whether you agree, agree to disagree, or the opposite, do not just take my words for it, be sure to look it up.

Thank You SteemVerify
Pics uploaded via Gifyu

Sort:  

I noticed the same thing. Would love a bit more transparency with regards to conversion fees across the board. Trying to determine the conversion fee with Blocktrades from transaction to transaction isn't any less murky.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95