You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: US Government To Sell $10 Million Worth Of Confiscated Bitcoins

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Maybe I'm oversimplifying it, but as long as you or I can sell and trade it, regardless of origin, the government should be able to do the same, even if it's money laundering.

Either everyone, or no one, there are no place for exceptions - that is my general rule of thumb.

And I'm for "everyone", because I'm not a fan of regulations et al.

Of course I'd prefer if the money made by this would go into the national budget and would be spent for things that actually benefit people. That way, even whitening money has some justification. Bad money "made into" good stuff.

Sort:  

By "legitimate" I was referring to the government banning Bitcoin at some point in the future. If there is a precedent of them using it, then it can't be banned. And future regulations should support free movement of Bitcoin, based on the same precedent. I'm also all in for "everyone".

Holy shit, I'd love it happening, then.

It'd be lovely to see they (metaphorically) kicking the chair from below themselves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61346.78
ETH 2637.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58