You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ledger Nano S Review - A New User's Guide to Hardware Wallets

in #bitcoin8 years ago

I am researching this myself, but unfortunately it seems that the wallet app for android is not available on f-droid.

Do you know anything about that? I do not really run any google sh*t on my androids ..

Sort:  

Unless you really want ETH then I would recommend getting Trezor and pair that with Mycelium for an Android setup. You won't be getting the full effect of Ledger UI running on a smartphone screen anyway so that advantage is lost anyhow. Mycelium is a really well built and full featured app (with Tor ffs! <3).

Is it possible with mycelium to have the concept of multiple accounts, like the ledger wallet does? (edit, clarification: one hardware wallet, multiple logical accounts)

To me that is a big plus.

While Mycelium is not on f-droid either, there is a direct apk download from their site. Slightly more cumbersome to keep up to date, but easier than any alternative so far! Unfortunately there aren't that many bitcoin wallets available on f-droid..

Mycelium is HD supported so from the same seed, you can have multiple streams of private and public key pairs that are pretty much isolated from one and other. I am not entirely sure if attackers can still trace the ownership of the streams back to the source seed but it still offers a high degree of anonymity on the Blockchain itself.

Anyway, I am no expert but hopefully this will give you something to work off in setting up your own digital currency vault. ;)

Your post has definitely inspired me to go and purchase a Nano Ledger S for testing.

I think it will be especially delightful to friends and family who are not as technically inclined, this level of security simply cannot be matched.

I have read over the specifications of all of the Ledger devices, and the Nano S by far is the most interesting.

Thanks for sharing, it is likely I would have ignored this subject for some more months had I not happened to read your post :)

Mate, thanks for this!

This really means a lot more to me. It sucks seeing people getting robbed after leaving their stash on exchanges when there affordable and secure solutions out there.

The more people are aware of this, the more support the industry will potentially lets.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51