How my $70K USD of BTC got scammed (today)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin6 years ago

M1529zq.pngI've been accumulating BTC for the last 1.5 years. I bought in early for ETH and had been in the game mining for over the last year. My account has been very robust, easily going above 300K in the last bull rush. I've been pretty bad at trading and usually just hold.

I've been getting a few air drops: EthZero, LCC, BTG, BCH and more - so using forks is nothing to me, I always practice good forking, making sure I sent my coins to a new wallet before using a private key on the new coin wallet. However, today something bad happened.

I googled the BTCP airdrop and immediately a reddit page appeared - I clicked the wallet link (electrumbtcp.com) and was brought to a relatively "official" page. Running on only 3 hours of sleep (my first mistake here) I quickly downloaded the wallet then began transferring my funds off from my primary wallet onto my secondary wallet. I took my BTC private key and entered it into the scam/fake BTCP wallet. I then went away for a few hours and came back to transfer my BTC back to my primary wallet (which I thought was the new wallet). Soon after it was confirmed, it left again. I knew immediately what happened.

I just lost 7.2+ BTC. My heart is sinking even as I type this now. How could I be so careless? I went on auto pilot and it cost me $70,000~
I've been doing research and I'm looking for any kind of legal recourse to this.

Here's some random links including my exodus wallet to the scammers wallet.
https://live.blockcypher.com/btc/address/1EgaeuKXBs1kJGx68JtqhxeDGLsAxkDfbx/

I'm trying to spread awareness. I dont want this to ever happen to anyone again. I'm unsure if I want to continue into the crypto world, I feel extremely defeated and don't know how to proceed. My "job" is crypto trading, investing and mining and I'm about burnt out on all of it.

Sort:  

Coins mentioned in post:

CoinPrice (USD)📉 24h📉 7d
BCHBitcoin Cash964.831$-7.22%-24.28%
BTCBitcoin8863.650$-6.85%-19.27%
BTGBitcoin Gold81.226$-7.94%-27.52%
ETHEthereum691.637$-3.84%-19.43%

Kainzo Thats so terrible to hear brother :( I hope your holding your head up high, We all miss you at the k2 Crypto Group chat. Hang in there man

Ouch. 😡😧😠

Congratulations @kainzo! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00