Unschooling Blog, Vol. 24: Just made a Bitcoin paper wallet for my son.

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

IMG_1427.JPG

I got this idea from a friend on Facebook. I think it's a great way to teach kids about cryptocurrency, the importance of private information (private keys/QR codes), and to have a nice little savings stashed away which will grow as Bitcoin does, for their future.

This is the kind of stuff that isn't taught in school!

All this reminds me, too, that some other Steemians-- @papa-pepper, I think it is--have started separate Steem accounts for their kids. Such an interesting time to be on this planet!!!

~KafkA

(Thanks for stopping by. If you missed the last Unschooling Blog, "Montessori Update!" you can find it here.)

IMG_6356.jpg


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Such an awesome idea my friend.
Depending on how much you put on the wallet your son can easily retire by 2022/2023. The last five years we had a median price gain of 470ish% per year in bitcoin.
I did this also for my son, but hes a little bit too young to understand. We really need to spread this idea around so more ancaps can focus on voluntarism peaceful parenting lifestyle instead of the daily money grind.

Did you use armory for the paper wallet? I've found that to be a little finicky.

Thanks. No, I didn't use Armory. I'll have to check that out. I just ran bitaddress.org offline.
Cheers! and happy to hear from a fellow Bitcoin parent!

Just posted my english version of the Bitcoin Retirement Plan and would love to hear your opinion on it:
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@lcshaft/the-bitcoin-retirement-plan-brp-201769t23512201z

Starting his retirement fund early on ;)

Interesting when you look into the future, maybe 2-5 years, when I believe this will be commonplace. But right now, you son is in the .00000001% of children his age. He is a Satoshi among the multitudes.

"...a Satoshi among the multitudes."

I like it! Cheers, @swenger! Thanks for the comment.

The look on his face is adorable. What has he said about it?
I'm currently 12 weeks pregnant and thinking about doing the same thing. Can't leave our kids with nothing, right?

Yeah absolutely. If you go in with like 50€ per month your kid will be a millionaire in 2023 :)

bra inläg thanks

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 08. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $37.81 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 08 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95