You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Curious why Bitcoin dropped and then popped the last few days?

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

No. The next one is September 19th.

This looks like why it is not always on the 15th of every month:

"The final settlement date for "serial" and "quarterly" XBT futures is two business days prior to the third Friday of the month denoted by the ticker symbol. These final settlement dates apply regardless of whether one of the above-referenced Fridays is a CFE holiday."

http://cfe.cboe.com/cfe-products/xbt-cboe-bitcoin-futures

Regarding the ETN, I saw that news as well. Though are you sure you can actually purchase it through Etrade currently? Have you tried it yet?

Sort:  

I transferred most of my money out of E*Trade a while back into my crypto IRA, but i had about $70 left in there so I just bought 2 shares of CXBTF and can confirm that you can actually purchase it!

cxbtf.JPG

Regarding the futures expiration, I'm guessing they always do it on a Wednesday maybe? I'm guessing this pattern won't continue for too long once people start anticipating it.

I edited my above response to include the reasoning. :)

I just picked up some CXBTF in my self directed IRA via Etrade. Thanks for the reminder!

help me i am new in here.

Are you not worried about price slippage from having so many currencies involved? Sounds like a nightmare for the ETN to convert between USD, Krone and BTC.

I will just stick to buying BTC directly, I am not scared to hold the private keys. :)

It makes sense to buy in an IRA. Outside of an IRA buy the bitcoin directly. There really are only two products to buy bitcoin in a US based IRA currently, GBTC and now CXBTF. The premium in GBTC is likely to start dropping out as more products become available.

@yabapmatt the money flow is indeed key. If brokers and institutions see money flowing away they will press SEC to let them open up show, i.e., ETF's or items similar to what you purchased.

I'm gonna go check my schwab account and see if they have something similiar to e*trade.

P.S. - great work on steemmonsters with aggy! I'm sure aggy tried to drag you on air enough but you are welcome to come on my music and money show sometime. :-)

I would be happy to come on your show sometime! PM me on discord and we can work out the details!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61083.24
ETH 2670.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61