Nearly 4 Million Bitcoins Lost Forever

in #bitcoin7 years ago

lost.jpg

Lets go for a treasurehunt!

"According to new research from Chainalysis, a digital forensics firm that studies the bitcoin blockchain, 3.79 million bitcoins are already gone for good based on a high estimate—and 2.78 million based on a low one. Those numbers imply 17% to 23% of existing bitcoins, which are today worth around $8,500 each, are lost."

https://twitter.com/jomeszaros/status/934501761460645888

Sort:  

Many people who had wallets over 7 years ago no longer have access to their wallets. At the time, BTC was nowhere near $8000 dollars, or even $50! So if you had a few hundred dollars worth, you would likely have over a dozen BTC. Crazy, crazy to think they are just locked in digital wallets never to be found again. Or will they be? :P

I had 10 million satoshi back when BTC was $200 apiece. I thought BTC was cool back then so I bought it.

Then I forgot about it.

Flash forward to now:

I wish I had my BTC! Back then I forgot it because it was only $20. Now its $800! At least I didn't pass thousands of dollars like some people did. I can still sleep knowing that I passed a chance to get $800 if I just remembered my private key...

Hello, you received a boost courtesy of @steemdunk! Steem Dunk is an automated curation platform that is easy and free for use by everyone.



Upvote this comment to support the bot and increase your future rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63030.98
ETH 2594.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74