Visa vs. Bitcoin

in #bitcoin7 years ago

ethereum.jpg

As I was researching Bitcoin this weekend, I was wondering if there had been any articles written about what Visa thinks about Bitcoin. I came across an article written in 2015 by author Robert Daniels.

http://fortune.com/2015/11/06/visa-mastercard-bitcoin/

It was great to see in the article:

"executive VP of innovation Jim McCarthy tells Fortune, “We have been evaluating blockchain technology for some time, seeing its potential to create new ways to transfer non-traditional currencies, such as gift cards or loyalty points.”

Seeing Visa discounting what Bitcoin can do by stating that it would be useful for things like loyalty points. However, I think that people who are in the Crypto-space agree that Bitcoin offers up a real threat to credit card companies. I continue to see these big CEO's and governments coming out and seeming "unthreatened" by Bitcoin and the Cryptocurrencies. However, under their breath and behind closed doors I can only imagine that they are trying to cook up ideas on how to kill it. It feels that there is real interest as Bitcoin gains strength and is becoming more widely accepted. Back in 2015 the article from Robert Daniels wrote he quoted:

"Anthony Watson, a former CIO of Barclays and Nike who is now CEO of Uphold: “I’ll be surprised if bitcoin is here in five years. The value of bitcoin isn’t the currency, but the technology.” JPMorgan CEO Jamie Dimon, even though his bank has launched a study group to look into blockchain technology, said this week that he expects bitcoin will be shut down by the government."

We all know that Jamie Dimon came out and stated that he thinks Bitcoin is a fraud. In that interview he had said that his daughter had purchased Bitcoin. I think that speaks volumes about where the currency is headed. His own daughter is excited about what it is, and for me that is amazing. I can't say that I have great things to say about Jamie Dimon, and I look forward to him having to admit that everything he has said about Bitcoin has been nothing more than FUD.

When I have a Bitcoin question I usually turn to Andreas Antonopoulos to see what he has to say. I think he gives a great presentation through his YouTube Video:

I would love to hear the opinions of others on this topic, and if there are any hard facts that can be added to the conversation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66373.20
ETH 3291.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69