Hey Coinbase, what gives?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Stemians,

So, coinbase.com is down while THIS is happening:

Yup, bitcoin is dropping (11% so far) and Steem is dropping (down almost to $2.00). If you want to sell? Nope. Wanna buy? Sorry. Out of luck. Maybe next time. Sorry Charlie. @ironshield

Sort:  

I've seen so many complaints like this, I just assume that Coinbase is unreliable and shouldn't be used if you need quick response times.

However, in that case, don't touch fiat either..

edit: https://steemit.com/coinbase/@evanrvoss/coinbase-why-do-you-always-give-an-error-message-when-the-price-of-bitcoin-and-ethereum-drops

Thank you for your comment. Coinbase is my first exchange.... not the best first impression. @ironshield

To minimize the hassle, buy in big amounts when you can. Once you're "in" crypto, it's so much easier to exchange assets. But you probably know that. :P

Thanks for the tip! Following! @ironshield

Yeah, I don't like coinbase. There are so many issues. I unlinked my banking info from coinbase the other day because I keep hearing horror stories. Paypal is going to launch their own exchange at some point. They have the infrastructure and server hardware to handle the exchange requests unlike these small office companies with a single server in the basement. I may just keep all my crypto in crypto until that time. Not sure yet.

Wow what a coincidence. Could be abnormal amounts of traffic. Still they should be prepared if that is the case.

It's probably an unusual amount of hits overwhelming the server... but still, c'mon put some money into the servers so it can handle the hits! If it's intentional, well, then it's criminal. @ironshield

This happens to me all the time.

Im a coinbase user since 2016, and decided to stop using this year!

Yeah, it's not just bitcoin and steem which are falling, everything is going. Looks like a correction is under way, which is in a way only natural after the huge rise in value which we've seen the past few weeks.

It's actually a relief, I get nervous when values spike up like that. Rise slowly, consistantly and naturally and people will trust the resource much more. Thanks for your comment. @ironshield

My only regret is that I can't get into my coinbase to buy more right now, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56560.74
ETH 2390.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34