You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Bitcoin is Perfect for Most First-Time Investors

in #bitcoin7 years ago

In terms of technology, I have no doubt in my mind that we are at the early stages of something huge, that does not mean that the crypto market is not a bubble though. I think the problem at times is that people cant see the difference between the value of a coin and the potential fundamental value of the technology. Dot com is the most obvious comparison, everyone correctly assumed that the internet was going to be a big thing going forward but that never meant that all the companies would survive and most didn't.

The vast majority of alts have tiny communities and/or no actual product, you can only attribute value to something on the basis of there being a business case in the future for so long. That's excluding the ones that are outright scams, bitconnect was an extreme example, and a pretty obvious scam at that, but many are no more than a whitepaper and a clone of something else. Others are taking the approach of "build it and they will come"....they probably won't. You need to build something actually useful then sell it to the world at large not just the users on reddit and steemit. Some people seem to get emotionally invested in a project just because the rode and wave of hype and made money. Don't get me wrong, I do that too but just because I invest speculate on a coin in the short term, does not mean I believe that the project is likely to have value long term. I know I'm gambling and the amount of money that I have on the line reflects that fact, (I am far from 100% in crypto) I like to think at least that that will give me an edge when the day of reckoning finally comes. Still I could be wrong there too and set my expectations accordingly, unrealized gains are what they are.

Seriously, if anyone reading this is borrowing money to speculate. Reconsider, that is lunacy.

I don't see it happening in the short term but there will be a shakeout in the crypto space and it will be epic. Some coins will be left standing and will be stronger for it in the long run, but most will die. It is from the ashes of that, that we will see the real projects, the survivors and the new ones that are actually useful, the ones with real value.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47