Bitcoin Investors vs Bitcoin Gamblers: A Personal Take

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I have been investing in Bitcoin since before Coinbase existed, and while you may believe I’m now incredibly wealthy or something, I’m not. You see, I believe in Bitcoin and it’s initial purpose. I spent some, I bought gyft gift cards with some, I tried flipping altcoins, and at the end of the day believed that I was helping with Bitcoin’s success, at least a little.

With this recent Bitcoin mania, I’ve suddenly seen thousand dollar increases in my holdings, and while it may seem nice, I was quite angry because now Bitcoin is now more of a gamblers toy and an annoyance to governments. And, worst of all, people assume I’m incredibly rich instead of just another tech enthusiast.

I really believe we need a sense of lightness again, we need to smile whether Bitcoin is doing well or poorly. We need to see Bitcoin - and all of the altcoins for that matter - as an interesting technical creature instead of crying when it goes down and patting ourselves on the back when it goes up. Buy a gyft gift card for Starbucks. Or buy a hundred GH/s Bitcoin cloud mining contract. Just something to bring the “fun” back to this suddenly very stern and serious technology.

This is just my take, I guess, but hopefully others will join me.

Sort:  

Yeah man! We are very new to crypto. These last few weeks actually. Before we started trading we didn't really notice all of the posts about values. Now, we notice them all....and notice all of the people that get their undies in a bunch when things change. I think the whole thing is great. If I am able to make a few bucks and not have to sell as much firewood it is a win!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68183.21
ETH 3545.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82