You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mt. Gox is a big reason for the Bitcoin price crash from all time high

in #bitcoin6 years ago

It's not lame at all in my opinion. At an average of $15,000 per Bitcoin, 35k Bitcoin mean $525 million of sell. In a market where most of the Bitcoins are held for long-term and only a handful of them are traded on exchanges, 35k Bitcoins sold in big chunks can create a huge effect on the market. So it did.

Otherwise too, the marketcap at any given time is not the actual USD amount invested in all the coins. It's probably less by a factor of 50 in actual value because the maretcaps are determined based on total circulating supply. The amounts shown in circulating supply is not actually circulating because most coins are stored in wallets or masternodes.

We can see Steem as an example. The 251 million Steem shown as circulating are mostly frozen in Steem Power on Steemit and many are stored as liquid Steem. The amounts available for trading represents only a portion of the circulating supply.

I hope you know this all better than me but I loved writing this comment as it solidified my learning. I can be wrong, of course, and I request correction in case so is the case.

Sort:  

Lame was maybe the wrong word, I was hoping there would've been more buy pressure. Considering all other negative things that happened during that time though it might have been a combined effort to cause such a steep decline.

If mt. gox dumping to pay back the users that lost all that money in 2014 is one of the causes for the massive scam Bitconnect to go down, I'm not too disappointed by what happened to the price.

The attacks did seem to be coordinated and even right now, after having creating so much fud already, the attacks are still on.

What happened with BitConnect is good for the the crypto market any day. I agree with your sentiments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60860.94
ETH 2672.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62