You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Crypto: How Bitcoin Futures Could Affect The Future Of Bitcoin

in #bitcoin5 years ago

Like most commentators here, I too, ignore most of the principles and theories that rule the crypto market. I wish one day we can all see it more clearly.
Because of the negative connotation of the word "speculation" in our hyper-inflated economy, I cringe at the very mention of it. I am not sure about "a more natural way to speculate on the price" being a good thing, but, again, I don't know much about the subject.
My guess is that eventually cryptos will become as mainstream as fiat and given the current tendency towards new technologies, it would not be farfetched to conceive the future of economies as fiat-free.
I just hope cryptos were not so unpredictable

Sort:  

The crypto market is a strange one, its a brand new asset class and combines technology and finance in ways we all don't fully understand.

The futures market is merely traditional financial products trying to be applied to the space, we will see if it lasts. I've already seen some futures contracts with CBOE have been cancelled so it might not be a mainstay in the space.

Price speculation has its benefits if you're aiming to secure something long term. Let's say you wanted to purchase something with BTC but want to lock in a certain price. You could buy futures instead and make the trade with someone and they can sell the futures and secure the agreed on value instead of worrying about price changes.

I think this is a stop-gap for now. Once we reach prices like say a million-dollar BTC which seems to be the end game price fluctuations won't matter and the currency will be reasonably stable to trade with and hold

I see you're from Venezuela, I've heard Dash and Pivx has become pretty popular in the region for payments and some retail stores are starting to adopt Dash payments (with their instant pay feature). While the hyperinflation is horrible, I hope that it will be a breeding ground for crypto to grow in your country and become a safeguard for funds and show the rest of the world how it can be used in everyday life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62834.21
ETH 2464.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64