Sort:  

I think there's a lot of misunderstood hype about what quantum computing can actually do.

Don't get me wrong - for certain problems, it will be orders of magnitude more efficient than traditional computing, and this is very cool stuff! But, it's not magic - that's my bigger point.

Maybe somebody will come up with an algorithm in the future for some of the problems that I mentioned, and maybe QC will only be used to solve a small piece of that algorithm (that's its role even in the Shor algorithm - you still need a classical computer for a lot of the factoring work).

But, given the information that I've been able to find today, I don't fear that SHA-256 or EC DLP will be broken by QC any time soon. Time will tell!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48