You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Three Most Probable and Effective Ways For Governments to Attack Most Cryptocurrencies

in #bitcoin7 years ago

So here's the "thing" about crypto. Its a global currency and no one country really owns it. This is extremely important since this makes it neutral in a way. Some countries are taking a very friendly approach to crypto, legalizing it and treating it like any other currency, like Japan and from what I read India is about to do the same. At this point, I believe there is enough support and understanding of crypto that governments will not act hostile towards it. Most people are beginning to find it fascinating like the early days of the Internet.

Sort:  

This is all true in our reality currently. I think it may be too far decentralized right now for any one government to put a halt to the system. If anything there is a very serious threat right now within. In my opinion a contentious hard fork creating two Bitcoins could be the most damaging thing and the government doesn't even have to be involved. I do believe though if it were to happen LTC & DASH would benefit heavily and will get a chance to take the limelight. Ethereum is having their own concerns as well with Casper and the miners maybe not being too fond of Proof of Stake. I guess we will all see.

I could not agree more. Two Bitcoins would def not be a good thing for Bitcoin since its whole deal from day one was cash and store of value. I am sure if SN could do it over again he'd have put in a governance type of DAO. At very least proof of shares protocol built in but 09'-10 Bitcoin was only a baby and it was already big experiment to prove in itself. Will see what happens but I am leaning towards seeing two Bitcoins come Aug. 1st. It still does not mean I would not hold any but I have more and more into Dash as I see it surpassing BTC anyhow down the road.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68