Are Altcoins Just Another Form of Crowdfunding?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

pexels-photo-66463.jpeg

As a cryptocurrency investor, I've recently noticed a huge influx of ICOs being launched. I'm thrilled by the interest coming in from the public sector. Yet, I've noticed a shift from coins being used in innovative ways; to teams creating coins to raise capital for their projects. I feel this is turning coins into more of a crowdfunding type platform somewhat similar to stocks, yet without a dividend payout. I'm all for this and willing to invest in business models that I feel would be profitable. Still, I feel like most of these companies don't fully understand the potential of blockchains and smart contracts and how we could be utilizing them to propel society into the future.

I'm curious how do you feel about this matter? Are you all for cluttering up the marketplace with coins used to raise funds for businesses and companies? Or do you feel we should focus on a select few coins and find innovative ways to integrate them into society? Let me know!

I love to talk about cryptocurrency, business, and technology. If these kinds of things interest you, please make sure to follow!

Sort:  

Congratulations @hector2184! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64170.07
ETH 3425.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59