You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bitcoin (BTC) Morning Update: The Bottom is NEAR!!

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

well not really, TA has changed several times(not just his but most peoples), but I appreciate the updates and the training videos. the only good advice would have been to sell to fiat awhile ago, but my suggestion was flagged to oblivion, cause I am an idiot who just doubled his stack.

The spamming of poo is getting ridiculous

Sort:  

I don't know how long you've been in this game, but after a few of these corrections you understand that it's just not worth the risk trying to time the market, whether or not you're following anyone's TA or not. You might get it right, and make a bit of money buying back on the dip, but more often than not you'll get it wrong, and eventually you realise the pain of missing out on the bull runs is much worse than the pain of seeing your portfolio temporarily down 50%.

I only follow @haejin's blog for buying points only, and to get a feel for where the market is going. Not to trade. Buy and hold is the winning strategy, and only selling when you've reached your moon.

Taxes also come into play, and the hassle of trading and reporting that, and paying the capital gains each time is not worth it.

I do not try to time small movements or day trade and I mainly hold myself. Stake what I can and run bots/nodes to help the community.

I do think that profit can be made with minimal risks if you limit the risks with stop orders, watch charts, and do some research. I only attempt this when I am anticipating big dips and the likely hood of it going the other way is not high.

Sorry my post was condensed but I had stated previously the best recommendation would have been to sell out (if you were comfortable with it) if not then to just hold. I said it was bad advice to be buying into alts during the last two weeks(mainly with fiat). To me that is good advice, people might not agree, but it definitely doesn't warrant being flagged or to be insulted.

I can agree with most of what you said and I am glad you do your own work and use other peoples TA, advice, research as tools to help you succeed. Because really just this TA, or someone else TA is not enough.

Taxes can be an issue, but talking to my accountant, from his understanding its considered a capital gain regardless if you are just holding or do minimal trading unless you are considered a day trader (several trades daily) then you get hammered. You would only have a bigger paper trail, but i only try to time the big dips.

@h00pla85. TA has changed serval times. Of cause. What do you expect? Not to change at all. Trading is fluid. You have to change with it. News always comes after the fact. How does it help you trade? Your opportunity is gone, done with.

i was responding to someone who said he was right all along, which he wasnt. i never said thats unreasonable. I dont expect people to be always right and for TA to not change.

@h00pla85. Your only good advice would have been to sell to fiat awhile ago. Could have, would have, should have done it. What good would that do?

because i said it awhile ago? and can now buy back in for a discount? Its what i did and suggested to do, but i got flagged to oblivion for giving a counter argument. I wasnt posting poo all over the palce

I think you sound like a smart person. I followed you.
But yeah trying to tell people the sky is falling....It's a hard pill to swallow.
You can understand why people wanted to bury their heads in the sand during the downturn (which isn't quite over (and yet people will probably take this as a signal to buy now)).
During a bull market analysts like haejin are invaluable. But they can't be expected to let you know when to cash out.
When it starts to get frothy, you can save yourself from a lot of pain by listening to contrarians.

thank you. I have said a bunch of times that I appreciate his blogs (heck i only started disagreeing with some stuff two weeks ago when i fairly certain he was wrong/unclear) and i have no problem with people disagreeing with me.

What i can't stand are people calling others idiots, trolls, and haters when they are just disagreeing with him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68047.64
ETH 3789.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61