You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Have no fear, naysayers called Amazon "a bubble" for its entire history as well!

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Waiting for the day when Amazon will announce that it will start accepting Bitcoin. Once that happens the adoption of Bitcoin will skyrocket.

Entry and Exit are two pain points in cryptocurrency for me as of now. Amazon accepting the Bitcoin payments will solve the problem of exit for me. Whenever i feel that bitcoin is overpriced and might correct I will purchase something on Amazon.

And whenever I feel that Bitcoin is in a Dip I would buy back Bitcoin. If Amazon also opens an exchange nothing like it :P

Sort:  

I don't expect Amazon to ever accept Bitcoin. Why would they? They are soooo big, they could just create their own coin.

Seriously, could you imagine the ICO for AmazonCoin? It would open at 1000, and pass Bitcoin within a week.

Yep yep. The moment when a large, established, respected platform like amazon starts accepting bitcoin is the moment public consensus about bitcoin switches from "that dark web sketchy internet money" to a genuine form of payment.

Newegg and Zappos (i think it was) taking BTC for payment is a start. But we'll need to be seeing more and more use cases with larger retailers if bitcoin is have a chance of coming close to the market cap of Amazon. I'm defintely hopeful that retailers will start moving in this direction, but before we get there, the SEC and tax accountants of the world need to hash out how to account for taxes on BTC transactions!

You can already buy amazon products with bitcoin. Have a look at purse.io

Whhaat?! I'll defintely look into this!

But I think it'll be important for there to be a big round bitcoin button, blatantly placed on the amazon checkout page for people to begin trusting cryptocurrencies more. :)

Regardless, thanks for the link!

I agree. I'm sure it will happen eventually. Could by Amazon Coin though..

Exactly! As soon as a company as large as Amazon accept bitcoin it'll be amazing. I've only just joined the crypto space but am thinking about the best way to cash out/use crypto on a regualr basis in the future. I'm hoping cards like Tenx will be successful for that.

Also at the moment bitcoin transfer fees are pretty crazy, especially if you're making small purchases. Can you (or anyone else) tell me why bitcoin is around 4x as expensive to trasfer compared to say Litecoin?

Haha, it would be fun to see two bubbles merging together!!

Haha well put!

I think there will either be one of two things in the near future:

A blockchain-powered Amazon competitor with its own cryptocurrency
OR
Amazon entering the crypto-payment space

In option 1) Amazon can still enter the space to crush the new competitor or it could choose to acquire a blockchain-enabled competitor

Or eBay. Honestly, with Bitcoin where it is now, I can't imagine what would happen if there were more places to spend it directly. Of course eBay wouldn't want that to happen with PayPal, but time will tell.

I like your thinking. Hope it steers this direction.

Yes I agree. I tweeted Jeff Bezos just for fun and ask when they would be taking Bitcoin like Overstock.com does.

Your profile picture is not uploaded. If you want to upload profile picture then see my post https://steemit.com/steemit/@tusharvasave/how-to-set-and-upload-profile-picture-and-cover-image-on-steemit

resteem this post and follow, upvote me to reach more people to this post. This post is helpful for new steemit member. Thanks.

I think it's s matter of time before they do ? What do u think ?

Bitcoin or Ethereum

Yeah, but I think they will wait. I mean ETH is better because of stability. But DASH, is king due to being almost untraceable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63