MY BITCOIN JOURNEY .. PICKING UP WHERE I LEFT OFF TWO YEARS AGO

in #bitcoin8 years ago

Navigating thru the bitcoin jungle has taken more effort than I initially anticipated. When I first learned of bitcoins in 2013, there were a handful of services available at the time, however, their mobile wallets were lacking. Today we have many robust options to choose from and they continue to improve as the months go by.

I purchased my first bitcoin usingcoinbase. It was easy to set it up and draw from my checking account whenever I wanted to buy bitcoins. I also setup my account with blockchain.info in order to have a wallet for which I had access to my private key.

Jump forward 2 years and I continue to buy bitcoins thru coinbase. I store my purchased bitcoins with Aribitz for future spending. I have a private key for my airbitz account and am able to spend my bitcoins thru their app whenever I want.

I tend to try out different service providers, but I don’t close the accounts. I was chatting recently with some bitcoin friends and was told that blockchain.info is coming out with a new mobile wallet. This industry is constantly evolving and the service providers are in a race to be the leader.

Recently I took a refresher course with coursera on bitcoins, it is available for FREE to anyone and it is offered by Princeton University. The course offers a lot of good information on the entire process of mining, transactions, the blockchain, etc. I was impressed at how detailed the information they provided was. The course explained several things I don’t fully comprehend yet, but I recommend anyone interested in learning about the functionality of the bitcoin technology to take the class. Here is the link to the course: https://class.coursera.org/bitcointech-001.

In December I will be attending a bitcoin conference here in San Diego, California and I hope to get more neat information out of it. I look forward to meeting the many smart folks that will be in attendance. I know a lot of smart people in the bitcoin industry already, I run into them almost daily when I visit one of my favorite social stumping grounds on G+, here is the link: https://plus.google.com/u/0/communities/115591368588047305300

More reading to do tomorrow and little more each day. I will post more updates on other new stuff I’ve discovered.

Original Post:
http://bitsabio.com/blogs/news/79983105-my-bitcoin-journey-picking-up-where-i-left-off-two-years-ago

Sort:  

I upvoted You

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58797.87
ETH 2500.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50