Question about Bitcoin energy usage

in #bitcoin6 years ago

For a new presentation, I wanted to compare bitcoin energy usage to Iphone energy usage. I know it disfavors Bitcoin, but in the same presentation, I also note a lot of advantages of Bitcoin. Furthermore, I just want to stick to the facts, so I care a lot that this calculation makes sense. We all know the network uses a lot of energy, but I want to compare it to something we know from our daily lives.

First I observed the energy usage of one bitcoin transaction from digiconomist.net - screenshot above. According to this, the energy consumption of one BTC transaction is 955 KWh.

Second I observed from this article that an iPhone charger uses 5W and takes approximately 3 hours to fully charge. So one full charge would equal 15Wh, which equals 0.015 KWh.

Consequentially 1 BTC transaction equals 955 KWh / 0.015 KWh = 63'667 iPhone charges.

Does that make sense?

Thanks for reading, upvoting, following

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63138.55
ETH 2579.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80