Question about Bitcoin CO2 emission

in #bitcoin6 years ago


For a new presentation, I wanted to compare bitcoin CO2 emission and to Iphone CO2 emission. I know it disfavours
Bitcoin, but in the same presentation, I also note a lot of advantages of Bitcoin. Furthermore, I just want to stick to the facts, so I care a lot that this calculation makes sense. We all know the network uses a lot of energy and this relates to a high CO2 emission, but I want to compare it to something we know from our daily lives.

First I observed the CO2 emission of one bitcoin transaction from digiconomist.net - screenshot below. According to this, the CO2 emission of one BTC transaction is 467 KG of CO2.

Second I observed from this article that an iPhone X in its entire life produces 79 KG of CO2.

Consequentially, the CO it takes to confirm 1 BTC transaction equals
467 KG CO2 / 79 KG CO2 =
The entire life of 5.9 iPhones X.

Does that make sense?

Thanks for reading, upvoting, following

Sort:  

This is a good post, followed you so keep them coming.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99