You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "SegNot2X" - Mark My Words, The "2x" of SegWit2x Will Not Happen

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Interesting. I've had a conversation with a few folks like...have we ever thought that the reason Bitcoins' will increase without it necessarily growing to be more flexible is the fact that it was the first. It is the "legacy" coin...and that in it self will give it value. I think folks need not concentrate on what would be the next Bitcoin but what will stand next to Bitcoin. As long as Bitcoin is king, there's no way around it. I applaud anyone that holds a whole Bitcoin, that will eventually be a lot of power in someone's hands in time.

Sort:  

I think you make a good point. People want Bitcoin to be everything, but it just wasn't really intended for micro-payments. I think the idea of it as "digital gold" makes the most sense and is most in line with the white paper.

Once upon a time, gold was the real "cash". $20 notes were just a claim on an ounce of gold at a bank somewhere...

I share the same sentiment. "The First" has its own legacy value which just cannot be replaced.

I'd call it a purely sentimental value; like what we have for steam engines, CRT monitors, Old Nokia phones, Internet Explorer, CDs etc. Bitcoin belongs in a museum. Dash (and NEM) is the real deal(for the time being).

Haha... A Cryptocurrency museum? Dash and NEM are promising.

Exactly...and I say that again...I really think 4 - 5 years from now...very few people in the world will have owned 1 bitcoin...It will be super valuable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.29
ETH 3267.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93