Bitcoin Article in The Guardian

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I just saw this article in The Guardian (UK)

bitcoin-price-futures-trading-begins-cryptocurrency-business-live

I actually didn't take the time to read the article, as I figured it would not be too informative, I don't believe these guys actually know more than I do about Bitcoin, and I don't know much, but I believe I can get better information on independent sites, let's say Reddit, etc. Of course a lot of the information there is fake but I can sift through it and try to get my own picture.

No, what interested me was the comments on the article, and a huge percentage of them are negative towards Bitcoin for example:

"Every time the price of Bitcoin goes up, the number of miners go up, and the energy usage continues to increase disproportionately. Bitcoin uses around 56 times the amount of energy for Visa's whole global transaction processing network, more than Ireland, for a fraction of the transactions. A single transaction can use up the same amount of energy as a home does in a week. And 70% of it is happening in coal burning China because energy is so cheap there.

Bitcoin must die."

I wonder if this is true? First of all how does this guy know the energy consumption of Bitcoin or of Visa transactions? Is he an insider? I think he is probably a paid troll, who is sent to bash Bitcoin because some groups are afraid of it. Let's look at this thing logically, Crypto could be the future of money or eventually it could implode, collapse and cease to exist. But that is something that nobody knows for sure, at the moment BTC looks quite healthy and has made a lot of people richer than they were before BTC, so it hasn't been a bad investment so far. Maybe in reality the people who are crying foul are just upset they weren't in this thing from the start and lost out on becoming rich with practically no work.

I missed out, but I feel OK with people having been smart enough to put there money or their mining efforts and have these actions pay back so handsomely. I don't have a clue as to whether BTC will continue it's climb or will burst, but I think whatever happens the ride has been good for a lot of people.

Sort:  

I wonder if this is true?
nope

Well Gandhi did win, what he fought for happened, what took place in India after he was murdered is something else.

his wife was in charge then.
wimmen..what can you say?

His wife? If you mean Indira this is what I found:

"Indira Priyadarshini Gandhi (Hindustani: [ˈɪnːdɪrə ˈɡaːnd̪ʱi] ; née Nehru; 19 November 1917 – 31 October 1984) was an Indian stateswoman and central figure of the Indian National Congress.[1] She was the first and, to date, the only female Prime Minister of India. Gandhi belonged to the Nehru–Gandhi family and was the daughter of Jawaharlal Nehru, the first Indian prime minister. Despite her surname Gandhi, she is not related to the family of Mahatma Gandhi."

oh...my bad.
For all these years I thought that she was his wife.

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63099.62
ETH 2555.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83