What happens to my BTC and ETH when I die? (inheritance, death, wills, etc?)

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I have an older friend who is very dear to me and we discussed the likely possibility that he would die first, since he's older than me (he's in his 50s, I'm in my 30s).

But I started thinking: death is so random—what if I die first?

I don't have many belongings or money at all, but I would want him to have my Bitcoin and Ether. Even though he's not into crypto-currency, I think he could benefit from having it as a gift through death, because I think the value would rise over the years.

It got me thinking: How would I make sure the crypto cold-storage wallet gets to him, when he lives on the other side of the country? Would I just leave a note in a random paper folder that says, If I die, please mail this to XXXXX, and just hope that the person who finds it will abide my request? What about my online accounts such as Coinbase?

This is definitely something to consider, despite near-future advances in science and technology which might have people living longer and healthier lives.

Sort:  

Might I suggest leaving a paper copy of your private keys in a lockbox that the executor/executrix of your will has access to?

Uhm, unless you wrote a testament your property will be inherited by your family, in a certain order. If there is no family it will go to the government. Safest option is to draw up a wilk, in which thus friend receives a key to a physical vault containing all passwords ztc. Or on second taught, a usb stick.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 67066.21
ETH 3093.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75