Crypto Dark Pools, Checking Out Republic Protocol

in #bitcoin7 years ago

What do you do in the stock market when you have a big order but don’t want to spook the market? You trade it in a dark pool.

Dark pools are private forums for off-exchange trading. They’re used so institutional investors can make large trades without showing their hand to the rest of the market.

Republic Protocol is creating a dark pool for cryptocurrencies.

Based in Singapore, the Republic Protocol is a decentralized dark pool for trustless cross-chain atomic trading of Ether, ERC20 tokens and Bitcoin pairs.

It facilitates cross-chain atomic trades on a hidden order book over the ETH and BTC networks.

This solves the problem of big players impacting the market just by showing an order. With the Republic Protocol large block orders can be executed with minimal price slippage.

There’s a total of 1 billion REN tokens and Republic distributed 60.2% in the token sale which completed in early February.

The guy behind Republic is 21-year-old CEO Taiyang Zhang. He believes cryptocurrency dark pools could capture some of the $9 billion in cryptocurrency traded monthly. Dark pools have been successful in stock markets, where $270 billion traded in dark pools in 2017.

REN, an ERC20 token, isn’t on any major exchanges yet. You can find it on IDEX, Liqui, and Tidex.

Republic Protocol plans on having a testnet out in the second quarter of 2018. Mainnet launch is targeted for the third quarter.

What do you think, does cryptocurrency need dark pools and the Republic Protocol?


For more on cryptos follow me @g-dubs and on SteemFollower

Use my referral link to buy Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Litecoin at Coinbase
and trade cryptos on Binance

Sort:  

Ha. I was just going to do a write up. I’m 3/4 of the way to 1 million Ren 😂

Let me know if you mind me going into further detail.

Not at all, I'll be interested to read it!

Lol don't let me stop you.

Being that we I follow you, didn't want to step on any toes.

Nice overview of REN. I've been a fan of what they are trying to do and following them since before they launched their ICO. The coming year or two should really see the rise in adoption of the DEX (decentralized exchange), and I think REN will provide the type of services institutional money and whales will want to use them.

U5ds4p2BPFSx2YMCDE8Roqz1U55RyLQ_1680x8400.png

I will do perfectly as I can. I prefer to play clearly

Has the hacker of The Dao found out about it yet? :-)

Thanks for the information @g-dubs

You got it!

Thanks for the info @g-dubs

if i have chance 2 upvoting i 'll do for you.

Nice Information.Great Explanation.Easy to Learn for Newbee Like me.Happy Steemit.Keep Posting.

You got it... thanks!

Wonderful sharing information @g-dubs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79