Checking Out Decentraland’s Builder Tool

in #bitcoin6 years ago

Two days ago I wrote about Decentraland’s upcoming Creator Contest.

The contest is being done in conjunction with the release of Builder, Decentraland’s easy-to-use drag-and-drop scene editor.

As someone with limited coding skills, I’m eager to check this out.

You can find Builder here. The screenshot below shows the front page.

As you can see up for grabs is 900,000 MAN and 50 LAND.

After you choose a template a pop-up walkthrough appears that gives a tour of Builder. It looks like it’s basically drag and drop.

In my first hour testing this out I found it for the most part easy to use. They use a toggle system so you can move objects left, right, up, and down. And then you can toggle again to rotate objects.

This issue I ran into was using too many ‘Triangles.’ Not sure what that means, but it limited the amount of objects I could put in my scene.

There are limits on triangles, materials, geometries, bodies, entities and textures at the moment. I got close to surpassing the limit on materials as well.

My first scene below. I thought I could make it better if I could add more objects, but ran into the triangle issue.

So far so good. Builder is really cool.

Check it out!


For more on cryptos follow me @g-dubs and on SteemFollower

Use my referral link to buy Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Litecoin at Coinbase
or Abra
and trade cryptos on Binance and Bibox...
And delegate SP with MinnowBooster

Crypto + Daily Fantasy Sports =No Limit Fantasy Sports

Shop and earn BTC with Lolli

Earn BTC on Earn.com

Sort:  

cool scene!

Well done Decentraland!
And thank you for making it accessible to non-coders.

Nice! The editor makes it easy for people to create scenes without needing to get down to programming.

Do check out the "Gecko" in the decentraland builder too! ;)
https://twitter.com/coingecko/status/1106471813561741312

I'll put the gecko in my next scene for sure!

You should check out the @dlux-io builder next. It’s also drag and drop but for any 3D model you find online or create, and it has built in publishing to Steem.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Will do, thanks for the heads up!

Thanks for showing me the easy way to have a programmer’s experience with the editor!

Lovely article @g-dubs

Posted using Partiko iOS

This post has received a 6.69 % upvote from @boomerang.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62978.31
ETH 2546.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76