Today I visited the ₿itcoin ATM 🏧💸

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

Shoutout to Arizona Fruit Punch, pictured in front of the microwave.

(My wallet needed to synchronize so I treated myself to a beverage while I waited.)


Some guy, maybe 50 years of age, a curious feller, stopped me in my tracks and asked me "you do this Bitcoin thing too?"

Yup, I do the Bitcoin thing too.

I guess he had spoken with someone before who he spotted using the machine.

"It's for real, huh?" he asked. "At first I thought it was some kind of gimmick."

I didn't tell him anything that amazing, especially because I was doing my transaction as I talked to him. But I did tell him that, whether or not in our lifetime, it's the future backbone of money and is in the process of being bid up in anticipation of that, and that ya it's for real.

It's really not my intent to convert people into being buyers, certainly not if they don't have a fundamental view of what it is that they're buying, but I can't help whatever my mojo naturally conveys.

I explained a little that it spikes and recesses and is getting close to a buying opportunity again, but that it probably still has lower to go.

"How much should I put into it?" he asked me.

"Whatever amount you have that you don't need and can just forget about," I told him.

"So if I have $5K, I should put it in?"

"I would," I answered.

He left with the ATM's instruction pamphlet and a pretty clear intent to buy some.

I like making winners out of people.

Television pundits and the so called professionals are less likely to be wildly wrong, but they'll never change your life.

The scruffy guy in pajamas at the gas station might change your life.

And if you get that, then you deserve it.

I tried to emphasize that whatever he puts in, it can't be the kind of thing where you're tempted to sell if it starts going down. You have to just leave it alone for 5 or 10 years. But you never know what he'll actually do.

Will my kids be proud or will they think their old man's really a square?

I don't know.

Probably a square, if I raise them right.

As much as right now people think holding Bitcoin is a wild adventure, from the future looking back it's just the textbook, obvious thing to have done.

There are the people who get what Bitcoin is, and the people who don't. And that's really the story of our era. It's almost not hyperbole to say that, by comparison, nothing else related to money and personal finance matters right now.

After the ATM, I saw a squirrel.

I saw him while he was on the ground, and then he ran up the tree and I was disappointed. Then I realized I can keep looking at him even while he's in the tree.

Enjoy your lunch, cutie.

My favorite thing about squirrels is they fake burying nuts sometimes because birds can be watching.

Easily one of the greatest animals.

The DoubleTree by Hilton has the holiday spirit going on. 🎄

BUT WHERE'S THE LORD!??

Is he not born yet and they trot him out on Christmas? What's the angle here? Is he stolen? Is he preemptively not used because they figure someone will steal it?

I kind of wanted to hop aboard and use my arm as a selfie stick, and complete the scene. But I didn't have it in me.

I don't terribly mind looking like a doofus, but it's more like they wouldn't know what level I'm on. They wouldn't know that I realize that I'm not the first person to think of this but just want to do it anyways and have the photo.

Sort:  

100% upvote from @betgames worth $0.36

Bitcoin ATMs...

I've heard a lot about them but this is the first time I'm getting a personal experience.

About the curious stranger, I think you did something good. I see bitcoin soaring just around the end of 2019 and if he buys 5k worth's he's going to be glad he did.

And yes, the people we interact with everyday can easily earn our trust and influence our decisions

The DoubleTree by Hilton has the holiday spirit going on. 🎄

Had a good laugh from this part downwards. Too bad you weren't brave enough to fill the vacuum and take a selfie

Nice squirrel by the way, looks like a cute female

I think the same thing (well I mean I could see it staying bearish or sideways thru all of 2019, but ya).. I tried to warn that it could go down for a while longer, but since I'll never talk to him again, I more or less targeted my advice as "buy it soon and forget about it for a long time".

Had a good laugh from this part downwards

😆😆😆

ooo, nice squirrel soul read.

Funny, I used the "he" without really thinking about it, like a chauvinistic jerk 😏 then after I posted for some reason I felt like it was a female. (but I didn't have enough evidence to overturn the ruling on the field so I just left it)

Funny, I used the "he" without really thinking about it, like a chauvinistic jerk 😏 then after I posted for some reason I felt like it was a female. (but I didn't have enough evidence to overturn the ruling on the field so I just left it)

Hehe

I thought it was a female because of the 'ass' (and the face). That probably makes me worse than a chauvinist

😏😏 maybe .. but nah, we're both great

Wow never really seen one up close. Tks. LOL I admire your approach with the man. I'm sure he likes it too. Its how I would want someone to convince me to go for a thing. Not all out passionate nazi attack "oh do it do it", or cold tepid "I don't care if you do it or not". You nailed it!

Television pundits and the so called pundits...'ll never change your life.
The scruffy guy in pajamas at the gas station might change your life.

Amazing! I really forks with this.


Damn. squirrel awnnn. Squirrels are so super adorable gosh! I didnt even know about the fake burying nuts. Thats jist frigging awesome. Intelligent and cute asf. This where your tech to show intentions to animals would have come in handy.


They wouldn't know that I realize that I'm not the first person to think of this but just want to do it anyways and have the photo.

Haha so true and you shoulda done it!


I like making winners out of people.

🙌🙌🙌

LOL I admire your approach with the man. I'm sure he likes it too.

😊😊 it was pretty sick, ya .. it's like the ironies and riddles know no end .. not caring whether you convince him and just expressing yourself seems to actually be convincing 🤷

I felt like he could just sense something about how I was saying things

and then I was like "and you'll have the guy at the gas station to thank for it", it was pretty next-level lol

Damn. squirrel awnnn. Squirrels are so super adorable gosh! I didnt even know about the fake burying nuts. Thats jist frigging awesome. Intelligent and cute asf. This where your tech to show intentions to animals would have come in handy.

😍😍

ya they're soooo clever. cute asf and clever asf. just perfect lol. perfect perfect

I want that tech so bad lol. I mean freeing the world and all the things AI might be able to help with are all cool.. but squirrels 😼😼 I really want squirrels to crawl all over me

whether you convince him and just expressing yourself seems to actually be convincing 🤷

yup, yup, some next level zen stuff right there...

squirells crawling all over me. 🤔mmm. I suppose i wouldnt mind it. 😻

I suppose i wouldnt mind it. 😻

you'd LOVE it, don't try to play it cool 😼🤩

Cool story and nice squirrel photo too!

Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77