Here's a prediction ๐Ÿค” for what the recovery and trend line of Bitcoin may look like:

in #bitcoin โ€ข 6 years ago (edited)

What do I base that on?

scroll slowly

.

.

๐Ÿ˜…

.

.

๐Ÿ˜

.

๐Ÿ˜Ž
.

.

๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜˜

.

Those lines are actually a snapshot of 2013-2016:

zing, got 'em ๐Ÿค 

(that's denominated in millibits; so where you see '1.355', is simply Bitcoin making its all-time high at $1,355)

Previously there was another version of the same thing, between 2010-2013.

And arguably a mini one along the way (it's that blip you see around 2012). But in retrospect it was probably just a brief reaction to the Cyprus banking type of worries, and should be folded into the 2013 spike, in terms of reading the pattern.

And then fast forward to now:

And adjusting for more years on the chart and how the visualization changes, it looks pretty exactly the same to me.

[Difference being that in the chart above, you can't go back in time and buy it during the valley. But in this chart you can.]

Or in other words:

Now, I make no claims that we've reached the bottom.

Could easily drop in half if not more from here (and I'd tend to guess probably will do something like that).

It's like pushing down on a coil. It always probably will go lower, but then eventually it doesn't. And if you wait too long then it's too late.

So my claim is essentially that if you buy it now (or better yet, average in over 2019), you'll be happy you did in 5 years.

Is Bitcoin DEFINITELY gonna shoot its load again?

Nothing is definite.

Maybe it's an illuminati booby trap with some kind of back door glitch that hasn't been discovered yet.

Maybe we switch to a different internet and thus we need a different token and Bitcoin is only useful on this retro internet.

But what's clear is that Bitcoin's fall from $20K to where it is now should be regarded as another day in the life and the normal course of things (rather than an "omgg, how would anyone make sense of this!?!?" sort of thing).

And thus -- when you recognize that this is as ordinary as apple pie -- that getting on board now is probably a tremendous opportunity that you shouldn't second guess too hard.

Bitcoin's price chart actually seems remarkably calm to me

It has a rhyme and wonder to it that knee jerk analysts and wannabe economists totally miss.

It doesn't have to continue in this exact same way forever -- and it certainly won't. In my mind it will be like an 'S' shape, and somewhere along the way when Bitcoin is more ubiquitous, it becomes kind of the opposite, where the drops are sudden and the recovery is more gradual. Until finally volatility becomes less and less of a thing.

But anyways:

If you go from newly discovered to ubiquitously used over, say, 100 years, then that's a pretty wild thing and the price pattern certainly won't be a perfectly straight line.

Not with human psychology involved.

A series of blip/drop, blip/drop hiccups is more what you should expect.

So its price behavior so far seems totally in line with the idea that Bitcoin is a groundbreaking mathematical discovery that will serve as the backbone of how value transfer works.

If it's going to be big, it wouldn't be some kind of neat and uneventful rise.

So where many see chaos and dissonance, there comes a point where they should be seeing ever increasing confirmation that Bitcoin is a big deal and fundamentally what its core advocates have always claimed it to be.


zoom out ๐Ÿ”Ž๐Ÿ™ƒ

try to see the forest for the trees here imo ๐ŸŒฒ๐ŸŒฒ๐ŸŒฒ

choo chooo ๐Ÿš‚๐Ÿš‚๐Ÿš‚

Sort: ย 

Amazing--as usual. I like that curve. I wouldn't mind seeing it again. But then again I also wouldn't mind moving to a new internet so, I think I pretty much get the gist of the lesson:

Things that have happened before are likely to --and perhaps are on the way to--repeat themselves but even if they don't the shouts and the FUDs are totally pointless.

Wet should all just enjoy greatness. And know that greatness always comes with a process--even if tthis time the price is very literal and it bumps and blip and dip like a frigging rollercoaster or a thousand nights on stormy seas.

Gotcha.

bitcoin's got curves!

But then again I also wouldn't mind moving to a new internet

๐Ÿ˜ฎ ya ,, I don't really know how it works, but I've heard the internet didn't have to be built quite this way and it isn't really truly best, but once it gets rolling you just keep going

so it makes me think maybe one day when there's not much else to worry about, we do it right and start over, lol

but I dunno if that even means Bitcoin wouldn't work on that internet. Maybe it would. It works on TOR, so I guess that's kind of like a different internet.. I think?

Things that have happened before are likely to --and perhaps are on the way to--repeat themselves but even if they don't the shouts and the FUDs are totally pointless.

ya spot on bro!! even granting that nobody can perfectly predict the future, there's no reason at all to actually be concerned or think anything out of the usual right now.

So far, it's the perfectly normal thing that's perfectly on par to its history and what you could logically intuit etc

bitcoin's got curves ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚ was wondering why I love it so much ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

the internet didn't have to be built quite this way and it isn't really truly best...once it gets rolling you just keep going

Wow yaa yaa like theres no point switching things up and then having to learn to adapt to that again.

All so sick! Gonna have to look up TOR in a bit tho ๐Ÿ™„LOL

was wondering why I love it so much ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜


and ya, fact check me on the internet stuff! I hear things and they stick in my brain sometimes.. but I dunno. something about the wires and yadee yada. Like it could have been wired totally differently.. but it's basically like government/military people trying to do whatever works. And then it grows and grows and it's too late now to change it ๐Ÿ™„๐Ÿ˜

something like that, I dunno lol.

(but if that's all true about the wiring then it makes me wonder if one day people will be like.. well shit, let's deal with the pain of rebuilding it and do it right)

::shrug:: no idea

But what's clear is that Bitcoin's fall from $20K to where it is now should be regarded as another day in the life and the normal course of things (rather than an "omgg, how would anyone make sense of this!?!?" sort of thing).

These days, I no longer worry about the price dip. I read a series of articles that argued that the listing of BTC on CBOE and CME triggered too much pressure on btc

I think the whales and traders who pumped btc knew they would get their money back through shorting

Long story short, btc didn't crash. It only experienced an abnormal growth and it's correcting itself.

I can't wait for the next bull run though.

Great insights. I too haven't understood why many have been so concerned by the dip. I realize most are likely new to the space but this is just another opportunity to load up and the coil analogy is spot on.

ya! whatever one's view of Bitcoin is, it shouldn't change because it came back after going parabolic.

that's just (a) what assets basically always do when they go parabolic and (b) what Bitcoin has done every time so far.

so even if it isn't super fun, it's just like.... ยฏ_(ใƒ„)_/ยฏ

like you dropped a ball and you're concerned that it bounced

I have written a very similar post about the hyperwaves that occur in bitcoin. I believe we still have a ways to go down and then we will have some sideways movement for a year, maybe more then another even bigger hyperwave the next time.

yup I agree with that!! confirmed similar

So since I missed all the past ones I am really gearing up for this one. Hopefully I make out like a bandit.

I also gave you a little bump with my curation trail vote.
:)
-doomsdaychassis

๐Ÿ˜ฒ thanks doomsday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72