You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Can an Altcoin Become More Valuable than Bitcoin?

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Great post! It's a worthful summary of the history until now especially for people who are not yet so familiar with altcoins. Don't be sad or angry about the downvotes.
In my opinion the bitcoin itself is the grand storage of value comparable with gold. For gold and bitcoin as well there is the rule "buy and hold". Therefore, the lean limit of transactions is not crucial for the incease of value.
For more transactions and usability there is the "zoo" of altcoins.
Nonetheless DASH might outperform BTC for a while. So I have both in my portfolio.

Sort:  

Yes, I have a friend who tells me Bitcoin will always have 8-10x the value and acceptance of any altcoin due to network effects, power law distribution, and many other reasons. He might be right, and I'm ok with that. I don't have a belief about how things should go, I'm just working to observe what is going on so I can figure out what might happen in the future.

I'm definitely holding onto my Bitcoin, and my Dash as well. And I keep looking for other altcoins that might bring something special to the table. Also while realizing I've only looked at a small part of the altcoin world.

Hopefully by being in the mix, if something changes for the future outlook of any of the altcoins, or Bitcoin, even, it gives me enough of a warning to lighten up my position in the coin.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 67006.39
ETH 3124.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78