People Are Now Beginning To Talk About Bitcoin...

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

Today was the first time ever that I overheard some people talking about Bitcoin. I had lunch with my sister at a pretty upscale burger joint. I also heard that they were programmers, but I think we are getting close to 1% adoption rate.

Today there are 20 million Bitcoin wallets according to Blockchain.info:

FireShot Capture 471 - The Dollar Vigilante - https___www.facebook.com_groups_dollarvigilante_.png

Does anybody know if these are all blockchain wallets or just the ones from Blockchain.info?

We also have 6 billion people above the age of 15 so if 20 million is true, we are at 0,33% adoption rate.

Sort:  

how many lost private keys ?

how many have ZERO balance ?

how many individuals have duplicate wallets ?

we aren't close to 1% we have plenty of room to go up

yup, the potential is huuuge, no doubt about

I think that these are all bitcoin wallets.
In my univerity lots of students know about bitcoin, it's very common.

sweet, what do you study?

aha, i guess math majors would get it easily, but what about the average student, they know about it?

I don't think so.

ya everyone in my city now is talking about bitcoin
some already invest

cool, i talk about it all the time, but I am still struggling to persuade some of my family members.

Hi, @freeforever.

Does anybody know if these are all blockchain wallets or just the ones from Blockchain.info?

Due to this report forom Cambridge Centre for Alternatve Finance:

  • Between 5.8 million and 11.5 million wallets are estmated to be currently ‘actve’
  • The total number of wallets can be estmated using data collected from study partcipants as well as including the number of sofware downloads of major wallet providers and Bitcoin’s reference implementaton. It is estmated that the total number of wallets has increased more than 4x from 8.2 million in 2013 to nearly 35 million in 2016

hm, so are you saying that in 2016 there were 11,5 million active wallets? It should be way higher today if that is the case.

However, we still have to consider people with multiple wallets. I myself have 4 different active bitcoin wallets for instance.

I think that a lot of crypto enthusiasts have more than one wallet. Especially crypto whales)

yes, for sure, the accurate number of individuals owning bitcoin is probably less than half of all active wallets.

I guess BTC wouldn't really top until some mainstream media makes a big documentary on it. 60 Minutes on Bitcoin will seriously get dumb money into the market and trigger a crash. Until then we'll be riding up.

You could be right, last week it was a Bitcoin Episode on "Big Bang Theory" and they usually have 19 million viewers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68425.65
ETH 2646.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68