How I Made $250 From An Empty Bitcoin Wallet.

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

I have a habit of hoarding files over the years. I have even saved an empty wallet.dat Bitcoin file that was produced back in 2012. I didn’t know up until recently that I can exchange this wallet for an altcoin named CLAMS. To my surprise, I had dug up roughly $250 worth of CLAMS.

My Haul

They are still being traded!

What are are CLAMS?

Unlike Bitcoins, CLAMS cannot be mined. Instead, a set amount of CLAMS were randomly distributed to 3.1 million Bitcoin, Litecoin, and Dogecoin addresses on May 12, 2014. Addresses after this date are not eligible to be redeemed for clams.

You can input the address here to find out if the address has any CLAMS hidden inside of it.

Claiming Your CLAMS.

The first thing you will need to do is download the official CLAMS client.

Windows 32bit

Windows 64bit

Linux 32bit

Linux 64bit

OSX

Import your BTC, LTC, or DOGE wallet with File → Import Wallet and then select your wallet.dat file.

Then you will have to wait for the really long blockchain download. Mine took over a week to complete.

Once your CLAMS, you may send it to an exchange to trade or you may hoard them for a rainy day.

Official Website
Official Announcement
Reddit

Sort:  

Hey, thanks for the tip. Took a while to sync the clam wallet, but I am now checking my private keys for clams =)

Wow that is quite interesting..

Nice one!

If you're interested in writing or content marketing services, get in touch with me here: http://dotcomwriters.com/contact-us.

Very nice, thank you.

Don't you know if there is a faster way how to synchronize the wallet?

I also have clams, but not a lot i found a faucet but i stop ysing it because i don't have much to to claim rewards. I am definetely gonna try this one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68854.36
ETH 3283.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67