My Opinion on BitCoinsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #bitcoin7 years ago



Leave it alone
...................................................................................................

Don't try to make it be something that it was not designed to be. Don't fix it until it is BROKE.
BitCoin is a good store of value. On the Bittrex exchange all AltCoins are valued in relation to BitCoin.

It seems to work just fine.

The ShiftCard from CoinBase instantly sells bitcoin from your account, on an exchange, for $US (in my case) and pays for what you bought...takes seconds.

It seem to work just fine.

WHY pay for stuff in bitcoin? WHY have YUGE transactions fees?

WHY WHY WHY?

Just use the mothercoin as a store of value...let her progeny do the heavy lifting/

Each one according to what it does best.

Sort:  

Well said. Agreed. So many complain or make fun of the big B but none of the altcoins would exist if it weren't for her.

Saying it the way it is :) Yes, I agree bitcoin is good for storing value, for transactions like purchases, takes a tad too long... hmmm... then again, what do I know?

Bitcoins deu uma parada de subir!

why pay for stuff in bitcoin? To get free of government power. government control fiat money and fiat money are 50% of every transaction in the world. If we don't need government money we get a lot of freedom. That's the reason I use bitcoin and suport everyone who use it.

you misunderstand. I didn't say don't pay for stuff with cryto currencies..

I guess I did. my bad

yo bitcoin is best for invest.

You bring up very solid points as btc is THE GOLD standard of all crypto. However I think it needs to be done and the issue cannot be ignored or delayed much longer. The reason is mainly because of the boom in altcoins the last few months. Actually I see that as the main reason btc is going with the fork. In technology every moves moves 10 times faster than other things in the world and technology grows at an exponential rate.

If btc didn't go with the fork and pushed it off for even another 6 months that could have very well been the beginning of the end of btc. With all the newer altcoins coming out with far more advanced technology than especially in transaction times that would end up hurting btc as new people that would enter the crypto market who wouldnt know any better would would buy btc and send it to an exhcange to trade for other coins . They see the the high fee since the value of btc is so high it would turn them off from wanting to invest in it .

Or people would eventually find a btc alternative that the transfer time is much faster and cheaper to do transfer. For example on Coinbase I buy LTC now and transfer that to other exchanges cause BTC would take longer and cost more for me. It mught not be much for some people but people like myself who only invest 20-50 bucks every couple weeks and transfer out to another exchange lose a few bucks that could be spent on some cheaper alt coins.

In technology to stay up with competition upgrades must happen frequently or else todays hot new item will be a thing of the past come tomorrow.

Also with the fork be prepared for BTC to surge in price like crazy for the rest of 2017 since it will be recharged and performance will be a lot faster.

Bitcoin was made as a form a currency and many vendors over the years have accepted btc as a form of payment, but with the recent lag some companies have abandoned btc and implement another form of crypto payment because they cant have the customer or them wait 15 minutes at checkout see if the transaction comes through.

Once again to reiterate, I am not disagreeing with you but understand why it needs to happen for the following reasons I mentioned

A team developed bitcoin...not a single person. How do I know that? I happen to have corresponded back in the days of the Extropian mailing list with that person.

I've read other people that agree with you.

I've read other people that say the exact opposite.

I guess we'll just have to wait and see what happens in August?

I believe you about the team of people who made it. It makes too much sense that it is the case. Reminds me of usual suspects Kaiser Soze hahaha

Also you know a lot more about Bitcoin than me, so I have to ask you with this fork , I have heard it's going to be a soft fork? Is there a difference with that and ahard fork? If there is and a hard fork covers a wider scope why not just go ahead and do that so they won't do through this again next year ?

I've heard different definitons.
Hardfork means when you come to a fork in the road...you take it...it's a change of course.

The thing that has everyone concerned is that BitCoin might take BOTH
Then there would be TWO BitCoins.
( Much like Ethereum did.)

Dunno what a soft fork is.

Are we having fun yet?

Great post here,, makes me know that I am not alone thinking this way,, for me at the end of the day when I'm done trading, I finish with more bitcoins, Thanks for that! have a great one Mister!

Nailed it! Great post as always and I love the thumb nail pic and how it rotates! Amazing I need to figure that out. I would love to do that with regular photos but not sure if it's possible.

I steal my giphs from Giphy
I think it has the tools so that you can make your own.
I haven't looked into it.

Ok thank you I will check that out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54295.07
ETH 2287.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31