Epic's First Bitcoin ATM Visit!

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Epic Turns Fiat into Crypto

So today, I decided it was time to check out a bitcoin ATM. There's at least 10 or more ATMs in my city and I haven't had the chance to stop by and buy some bitcoin. We'll today I did just that. I took all 28 dollars out of my wallet and fed them into the ATM. After scanning my ID and wallet address it only took a few seconds for the transaction to be confirmed I was really surprised at how fast it took. I was a little iffy about having to scan my ID but I went for it.

The ATM

20170626_170422.jpg

Feeding Cash into the ATM

The Receipt

20170626_170804.jpg


Recap

I bought $28 worth of bitcoin from an ATM today at a local coin shop. It was a great experience because I collect silver/gold and I got to buy bitcoin while I decided on my next silver purchase. One thing I did not like about using the ATM was that I had to scan my ID. I thought ATMs were suppose to be a bit more anonymous than services such as Coinbase but that's alright.

The whole reason I went to the ATM was to try and withdraw some cash for BTC but the coin shop owner told me the withdraw option was currently disabled and that I should try contacting the ATM operator to ask them to refill it. This was a little upsetting but nonetheless I drove 30 minutes to use a bitcoin ATM and by dammit I wasn't gonna turn around and not use it, so I did.

I asked the store owner if very many people use the machine and he said lots of people come in just to buy Bitcoin. I thought this was really cool because, I don't personally know anyone in my city that uses crypto. Next, I asked the store owner if they'd ever used bitcoin themselves and he said that they used to accept bitcoin. I figured they used BitPay and sure enough they did.

Once I finally broke the ice I began asking him more about crypto. The store owner brought up the recent ethereum flash crashes and asked me to explain to him what caused them. After that, I told him all about steemit and showed him how to get started. I gave him my steemit username and told him to reach out to me if he joined. He seemed skeptical and I could tell by his tone he wan't a true believer of crypto so I gave him my best wishes and headed out. Overall it was a great experience and I told the owner I will be coming back soon to buy some more silver and maybe cash out some bitcoin if they ever decide to refill the withdraw portion of the ATM.


As always, if you enjoyed my work POUND that upvote button and make sure to follow @epicdesigns for more great content!

Untitled-10.png


Till next time stay tuned

-Epic Designs

Sort:  

Good Job @epicdesigns )

Wow. That's pretty cool. Must feel way more different than just purchasing online with a card.

This is awesome!

That is crazy, did a bell go off like you won at bingo or something?

thanks for sharing that great experience..there is a BC ATM in Omaha .. I have not traveled there.. I don't have a card. next step get a card

Cool thanks for the post, upvoted and followed!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by cryptoholic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

That sounds like a great organization, i'm a total newbie at this so glad to see there is so much support!

nice, Where are the ATM located. I have no idea that there were such things... well at least here in California EUA

Try using coinmap.org to find one near you

I have to look more into this... 👍

Looks more like you are feeding it. haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60009.56
ETH 3342.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42