Wallets

in #bitcoin7 years ago (edited)

bitcoin-wallet.png
So, I’ve piqued your interest and you want to know where to get Bitcoins. There are so many ways and places to start filling your Bitcoin wallet. Wallet? Yes. An actual Bitcoin wallet. An online ‘bank’ (if you pardon the term) that keeps your Bitcoins until you decide to spend, trade, or sell them. There are downloadable secure software (core) wallets you can download to your computer. Cold storage (offline and off of your computer) wallets are available and a few companies will give you a paper wallet. If you want to know where to get bitcoins, the first step is getting a wallet.

The anonymity of a wallet is amazing. Unless you decide to tell anyone who you are, it’s yours and yours alone. No government can tax you or charge you for holding them there. Since Bitcoin is a digital currency, a wallet is required to keep them in. I suggest doing your own research as to what will best suit your needs. You may want to do a lot of trading so a higher security wallet might be your preference. If you don’t have much traffic near your computer and know you’ll have it for a long time…and that you won’t spill coffee on it…or any kids drive their cars or play Barbie’s on it…then a simple downloadable core wallet on your home pc or laptop may be suitable. You can send and receive BTC (or any cryptocurrency) to and from any address, so maybe multiple wallets is an option. But first, you need to get one.

Where to get a Wallet
Ok, here we are. Your new wallet. Where do you get it? Bitcoin.org, which is probably one of the most respected Bitcoin authority websites on the internet, will give you the option to choose from mobile wallets, desktop (core) wallets and even virtual wallets. Research them and see which one suits you best! I will tell you the ones I have used most and why. I personally do a little mining for several types of Altcoin on top of Bitcoin. I, therefore, need something other than just a BTC wallet so I do use a few digital wallets because of the reliability, and I also have downloaded several core wallets.

One digital wallet in particular, has been around almost as long as the concept of an online wallet was created and as such, should be respected. They are COINBASE. Now, this company is top notch when it comes to security for a wallet. I've been using them for years and haven't had any complaints. Where people go wrong, is trying to use Coinbase as an exchange when it is not. You can passively buy Bitcoin (they have added Ethereum and Litecoin recently) here but do not use Coinbase as an exchange for trading. Their confirmation time is relatively slow and as such, I use it for nothing more than a wallet. I have to fill you in one more because of their popularity and ease of use. LOCALBITCOINS, which is a very widely used wallet AND a decent place to trade a few coins, should serve any novice or expert with a suitable user interface. Do your own research, but those are my picks!

There is a reason I posted these two particular wallets. A trick, if you will. The most engaging comments below will be taught. If you already know, please do not spoil it for anyone...thanks a million!

DQmcGTgE9ztQ7QmWESyE7uVqLrUqfbAa1fsTCod6dmsFYjP.gif

Sort:  

Coinbase is solid. High transaction fees, but the UI is the best. I haven't yet purchased a hardware wallet, as I feel that's my next move. I get so confused... hardware, paper wallets, just writing down your address on a piece of paper lol

Believe it or not, you can use any flash drive for cold storage. Don't have to buy any fancy nano ledger or a trezor.

Cool post, I just made something similar to help newbies the other day!

Made as in created? A tool?

Thanks for sharing this info. I'm learning everyday!

Yes ma'am...a day I don't learn is a day my time is spent foolishly.

Congratulations @enginewitty! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Just curious, if Coinbase went down or crashes... would you still be able to access your funds? I heard a lot of horror stories with Coinbase so at this point I can't trust it too much to keep my funds safe there. I keep it at a minimal. I mainly use it to buy BTC, LTC and ETH then I transfer it to my wallet. I'd use another site but I started out with Coinbase and I love the UI. :)

Considering the integrity they have upheld over the years, I have no doubt in my mind that they would compensate everyone.

Nicely done, way to sneak that in :)

He he...think anybody gets it? What I've actually given them here with this post?

not sure, i saw it coming with the intro and was waiting to see it further down. sneaky sneaky

Lot of money to be made between Coinbase and LocalBitcoins...

I knew coinbase did, didn't know local coins did.

Coinbase has a limit on buying up to $100 a week

Only on new accounts. I can buy considerably more than that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62164.65
ETH 2439.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67