You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: If you have a Coinbase account: BEWARE because you could lose everything you own, just like I did (help me spread the word fellow steemians!)

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Hm I see, you had 2 step verification - (a code sent to your phone) and not 2FA google Authenticator (thats why i was reading that text code to phone is less secure). BTW just read Coinbase are insured if you are in USA, but only if they are hack attacked, not losses resulting from the compromise of your individual Coinbase account :( And I guess you didn't try the BTC Vault (unfortunately they only have it for Bitcoin).
How can they have your SSN? Do these people know you? Or it all came because of the sim / phone compromise?!
Anyway, I am hearing more that people use PRE-Paid cards for that matter (to avoid sim-swap sh*t).

Sort:  

It is both, my SSN was stolen in a previous hack of Anthem Blue Cross. I'm sure there is an article about that here on steemit but in any case it is a healthcare insurance provider.

So, I guess your phone number was associated with your email??? Yeah, we live in those smart phone times, where the phone becomes your fri**ing wallet...
I re-steemed your story yesterday. I hope more people do that and help you out.

Thank you very much! Steemit has always been good to me, so I am hopeful that this post will pick up!

Re-steemed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55747.11
ETH 2323.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34