Mike Moloney, Bitcoin and Hashgraph.

in #bitcoin7 years ago

I'm a big fan of Mike Moloney's Hidden Secrets of Money YouTube series and was keen to watch his latest addition, focusing on cryptocurrency.


Having just watched it, though, I am somewhat confused!

He starts by discussing how Bitcoin has been a revolution, but then goes on to say that it will be superseded by Hashgraph. http://www.swirlds.com

This is quick, but it is being patented. And he has compared it to Bitcoin, but not to something fast and reliable like Bitshares.

My impression from his other videos is that he does thorough research, but even with my, admittedly limited, knowledge of cryptocurrencies, it seems odd to ignore a whole world of open source blockchain alternatives. Or am I missing something?

I'd be delighted to get some clarity/insights from some knowledgeable Steemiters out there...

Sort:  

I don’t know if I can be considered knowledgeable, but can give my simple opinion. I think he’s indeed cutting corners. From the presentations I’ve seen about hashgraph it’s more flexible and quicker than blockchain. But I haven’t seen it implemented yet. Furthermore there will be pros and cons of blockchain vs hashgraph. In both technologies I’d expect winners and losers. I’m very curious about

Thanks @ghaaspur. Yeah, I guess time will tell. I had never heard about it until today/his video. I guess the whole crypto world is constantly changing - it will keep us on our toes!

wow. That was pretty exciting. Hashgraph sounds amazing. I say we just get behind ALL of this technology. It seems like the whole movement is going to continue pushing in various directions. Some will succeed, some will fall. They will keep learning from each other. Its an accelerated evolution process and its wonderful to behold!

although hashgraph seems to have this problem: 'As long as it remains closed source, patented, and doesnt use peer review it makes no sense.' according to some people commenting on youtube, so I guess the jury will be out on hashgraph until they opensourcify it.

article about hashgraph pros/cons and is blockchain already obsolete : https://hackernoon.com/demystifying-hashgraph-benefits-and-challenges-d605e5c0cee5

Many thanks for link.

Yup, that closed source, patented element is the bit that I have a problem with. It doesn't make sense to me that it would be adopted when the new drive seems to be for open source. Hey, what do I know. I find it all fascinating. We live in interesting times. 🤩

haha. thats exactly how I feel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60773.82
ETH 2378.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57