How do you convert bitcoin to cash outside of the US and EU?

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Hi International Steemians. I spent this entire morning looking at bitcoin debit cards online and most of them aren’t available outside of the US and or EU (I need something that's accessible in the Caribbean). My list is down to Wagecan, Anxpro and Moneypolo but from what I’ve seen so far, I don’t feel particularly inspired by any of those.

I know there must be people all over the world who are earning cryptos and have found ways to convert them into fiat so they can spend them. I’d really like to know how though. I know right now seems like a really good time to hodl but I have a friend who wants to day trade full time and that's only feasible if it can pay the bills. So we're working on figuring this out.

If you've got a solution, please drop a comment. If not but you think someone you follow might, please give this a resteem.

Thanks in advance!

Sort:  

I'm in Colombia and I use Localbitcoins to get fiat transfered to a bank account, of course some countries have better demands than others....for example it was much easier to sell BTC for fiat in Venezuela than here but I do still find reasonable offers

Thanks, that sounds promising. I'll look into it and see if it could work

We live in the US and started holding our cryptos at coinbase, at first. We did the same research you’re doing and got a shift card, which only works with coinbase, I believe, but since moving our cryptos to less governed exchanges, we are running into the same problem. Many of the cards available are not available to US residents, probably because big brother can’t monitor transactions on those particular cards. Hopefully you get some good feed back from this post and if we find anything in our research, I’ll be sure to drop you the information. Good luck

Thanks, I appreciate that. Even though I haven't found what I'm looking for yet, I can't help but feel like it's out there. Good luck to you too

It has to be, with all of the big shot, early bitcoin investors not wanting to pay taxes on their gains… we just have to be diligent in our research efforts. Haha

I just read a post about Monaco, not available in the US yet but might be worth checking out…

I actually started the signup process with Monaco but I'm having difficulty with the app. I'll check back on it in a few weeks and see if they've sorted that out.

BitPay might be another one for you to check out @elementm

Did you check Xapo?

Yes, it's one of the ones that aren't available here (sadly).

Sorry to hear that.

It's okay, I'll just keep looking :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60061.12
ETH 3196.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45