How many bitcoins are there? Almost 17 million!

in #bitcoin6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: How many bitcoins are there? Almost 17 million!


Steem used to be an uncensored, decentralized platform - until Justin Sun bought Steemit and used its stake to become a dictator, handpicking the witnesses, censoring posts and stealing balances. That's why I removed this post and started blogging on Hive. You can still read all my posts there.



Sort:  

I needed to publish this quickly, but more important than the exact time when we reach the symbolic number is the lesson: don't trust anyone and do your own research. After following Bitcoin every day for 5 years, I was just smart enough to keep scrolling before retweeting one of these announcements.

Fact checking is always a good thing. But also, fact check the fact checkers!

Exactly! I don't trust Lopp blindly either, and he wouldn't want me to, but he posted a convincing explanation.

And we reached the 17 million!

Of course, the number of available bitcoins will be lower than the number of existing bitcoins. The narcs at Chainanalysis estimate that 3.8 million coins were lost, but calculations like 5,110,898 * 50% are little better than guessing. Using the same data you could estimate that 1 million coins were lost.

I like the model of scarcity in bitcoin. I think the value is preserved by that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71