Help getting ready for BitcoinCash

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Hello!

I made a wallet on coin.space to prepare for the BitcoinCash fork on August 1st.

It gave me a 12 word phrase, but I want my private keys to be sure.

I found this tool to help convert mnemonic phrases to private keys. I entered my 12 words but the none of the addresses generated matched the one coin.space made for me. Does that matter? If not, what information do I need from the tool when I enter my mnemonic phrase? Just the "Account Extended Private Key" ?

Thanks!

Sort:  

Not an expert here, but I assume the wallet used a different algorithm to generate your 12-word phrase and keyed those 12 words specifically to your private (and maybe public) keys. So, the tool you used will not be able to give you the correct private key.

Much better idea would be to get the private keys directly from coin.space. If they don't have a way for you to get those keys, then use a different wallet, like Exodus or Electrum.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13